Baking, Baking and More Baking

So this past month I have made 2 cakes and a 12 layered Jell-O Rainbow Salad, (I found the recipe on Tablespoon.com). The Jell-O took a better part of the day yesterday and I had to make some extra Jell-O for my son, since the Rainbow was spiked. It looked really nice on the site and of course I realized it would take time. It just took actually doing it to realize how tedious it is. MY GOODNESS, you can’t really do much of anything while making it, you wait 10-15 minutes between each layer and have to move on to the next so they’ll stick properly. Anyway, that was how my Sunday was spent, at least I got to finish my book (more on that later).

So last week, my husband tells me I should make a cake for his work, since it would be a holiday weekend. Last year I made a 9″ Red white and blue cake with a few flags piped around the cake. This year I decided to do the Red, white and blue layers but as a 12″ cake, which doesn’t sound that big, but each layer had enough to make 1.5 regular 9″ cakes and that sucker was heavy. Well, I only have one pan to make a 12″ cake, so that, again, took all day just to bake and mix and wash the cake. I did that, made 3 batches of butter cream icing and put everything away. That night (Wednesday) our A/C died and we were camping out under our fans (one of which seems to put out gale force winds) so I got about 2 hours of sleep. Then I had to decorate the cake that next day, ha it didn’t turn out well, but a shop full of machinist appreciated it. I learned 2 things this week,Texaswith no A/C in the summer is misery & 2 a level oven (and fridge) makes things a lot easier. After my July 4th cake, my husband leveled my oven, so next time that will be one less worry.

I’ll throw in a pic of my Father’s Day cake too, it is a fishing cake, but inside the boat I put a giftcard instead of a fisherman (and yes I realize I’m not a great decorator, but hey it’s the thought right?). PICS are below, please don’t judge too harshly I’m just a mom I am most def. not a baker.

Rainbow Jello Shot

(From Tabelspoon.com)

4½  cups water, divided
6 – 3oz packages flavored Jello
3 envelopes plain gelatin (6 tsp divided)
3 cups flavored rum or vodka (I used plain)
1⅛ cup vanilla yogurt, divided

  • Place the liquor in freezer for several hours before starting
  • Lightly spray pan with non stick cooking spray (I used a bundt pan and generously applied nonstick spray so it would easily slide out). Don’t spray too much or it can affect the taste.
  • Pour ¾ cup water into a saucepan and sprinkle with one teaspoon of the plain gelatin. Allow gelatain to soak for a few minutes. Heat over low heat, stir constantly, until gelatin is dissolved (5 minutes). Wisk the 1st package of flavored jello. Whisk at least 2 minutes or until completely dissolved.
  • Remove from heat. Add ½ cup cold liquor and stir.
  • Pour ¾ cup of the jello mixture into prepared mold and place in fridge, allow it to set for 20-30 minutes (although the first layer takes less time) Be sure to check on it often you want it firm but still sticky to the touch or the other layers won’t attach or bond.
  • Refrigerate the remaining gelatin mixture in bowl about 5 minutes or until slightly thickened. Gradually stir in 3 tablespoons of yogurt until well blended. This cooling step is also important – the gelatin must be cooled to room temperature before adding on top of other layers, or the layers will not be well defined!
  • Gently spoon the gelatin/yogurt mixture over set gelatin and return to the refrigerator Refrigerate about 15 minutes or until gelatin is set but not firm (Again, it should stick to finger when touched.) As the layers progress, the setting time will become shorter as the pan and gelatin becomes colder, and the layers become thinner as more layers are added to the mold.
  • Repeat steps with remaining gelatin flavors, for a total of 12 alternating clear and creamy gelatin layers.
  • After completing all the layers, refrigerate the gelatin overnight. (Though I didn’t do that I just let it set for 4 hours) To unmold, fill a larger container or clean sink with warm water (not too hot!). With clean fingers, loosen the gelatin around the edges of the mold cavities.(I didn’t touch my Jello it just slipped out) Next, dip the mold almost to the edge into the warm water for just a few seconds (10 seconds worked for me). Dry the bottom of the mold with a towel and check the edges to see if they are loose, if not, repeat the dip for just a few seconds. Place your serving plate on top of the mold and invert. Viola!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

