My Preoccuption of Books – June

June 5:  Wish by Alexandra Bullen (Kindle Version) I thought this novel was pretty cute, it was a young adult novel which I don’t mind reading, but it was predictable. I think young/mid teens would really like this, and it’s a great innovation of the 3 wishes stories. ***




June 11: The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1) by Rick Riordan (Kindle Edition) Man I was just on a young adult/kid book roll this month. I wanted to read this series because I’ve heard so much about it. I had already seen the movie (which was not really like the book but somewhat similar) and that was fairly entertaining so I read this. I really enjoyed it, I read it really quickly. What did I love about it? A lot of it had to do with mythology, I used to be obsessed with Greek mythology when I was a kid. I currently have 2 cats which we named Kronos & Rhea, no one gets it, but they are both in this book (they are Titans btw). I like this spin on the ancient mythos and that this 12/13-year-old kids are burdened and are able to fulfil their quest. I can’t wait to read the next one, and give this to my son when he’s old enough. ****

June 13: The Matchmakers by Jennifer Colgan (Kindle Edition) Well, finally an ‘adult’ book well not adult but a non-young adult book. This was a paranormal romance straight up and you know how it’s going to end from the beginning. However, it’s a descent read, it is a coming of age story, even though the characters are late 20s maybe early 30s (I don’t remember exactly). Nick is a philanderer he doesn’t really like to stick anywhere (or with anyone) very long. Calliope is a fairy who interfered too much and they are brought together to unite 3 couples into true love. It’s not really a mushy romance but it’s definitely a chick lit book. I enjoyed it mostly, there were parts that just dragged but it’s also not a long book. ****


June 17: Inevitable (The Inevitable Trilogy #1) by Jason Letts (Kindle Edition) Another young adult book here and this one is somewhat similar to the above book, not totally alike but there are definite similarities. I didn’t love this one, but it was ok. There were a lot, I mean a lot of errors, of course that comes along with indie books but I get distracted by them. Again, it’s ok, but very predictable it has a spirit like girl who wants to give Nathan the best last year of his life, but things don’t go according to plan. It’s a novella, but it took forever to read, maybe because it wasn’t that interesting. ***


June 19: Moon Dance (Vampire for Hire #1) by J.R. Rain (Kindle Edition) This was an enjoyable read, it is a paranormal book, full of vampires, werewolves and of course your everyday Vampire P.I. Of course there were typos and errors, but this was an Indie book. It was really short too but other than that I really liked the character Sam a mom who was attacked and became a vampire but is living to the best of her ability for her children but really it’s not about the paranormal, it’s more about the mystery/detective story with a splash of romance. It was good enough that I didn’t figure out ‘who done it’ until it was revealed. It is worth picking up and it was only .99! ****


June 22: Blood, Smoke and Mirrors by Robyn Bachar (Kindle Edition) This book is more adult but I don’t remember it being to horribly explicit but it’s not one for the kiddos. This is another paranormal book with vampires, witches and a few fae thrown in with romance of course. It is about a girl who was an outcast from the witch community and her father was evil and killed her mom. She is then asked to throw her hat in and go through the trials of becoming the new Titania (someone who works with both magic/non magic worlds) and life just gets crazy. This book was slooow it was ok but it should have been made into a series instead of one book, it is just a let down in the end. I do like that our heroine is not your cookie cutter perfect looking person, she’s flawed, a bit overweight, needs glasses and she’s ok with who she is. Overall, I wasn’t impressed with this one. ***

Leave a Reply

