My Life in Books – August Part 1

So normally I have been throwing up all the books I’ve read in one post and giving a little opinion on them. I’m not a book blogger, I do love to read and then, subsequently, talk about the books I read, much to the chagrin of my husband (hence blog). I try not to put out plot details, because I hate reading a review and have them totally spoil it for me. I like to put a blurb out there and I do rate books on Goodreads. ANYWAY so this month I’m going to have to break down the books, because life is starting to get busy. This post is part 1 of 3 I hope this helps you in someway. As always just click on the cover and it’ll take you to Amazon if the book sounds interesting.

In these 5 books, I’ve traveled underground to a ‘postapocalyptic’ type world, battled a Titan, seen a new side of cheerleading, been bored out of my mind and depressed at the same time and met a deaf werewolf/shifter. All while my reading has been slowing to a crawl with school beginning.



August 1: The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau (Kindle Edition) –  First I must say that I am surprised that this is a debut novel. It won many awards or nominations when: it came out in 2003 and a few since then. This is considered a children’s or young reader’s book, aimed at the middle school aged kiddos. It does have something in it that speaks to adults as well, of course most well written books do. I will say that I hadn’t heard of this book until there was a movie in 2008. My family watched and enjoyed the movie, (love Bill Murray) it was an interesting concept. A seemingly dystopian city aptly named Ember several generations after some unknown disaster. No one knows what the sky is or the sun or what’s beyond the darkness. The darkness is a big theme it seems. Not only the darkness that threatens Ember as the lights begin to fade, or the darkness in the ‘unknown region’ but also the darkness within and realizing that it is there. It always seems that children are the best at seeing these things, seeing corruption or the good or a different way of looking at the world. Adults are just so….clouded, which is true we are. Anyway, I thought this was a great book it was such a fast read and easy, and full of great quotes. Much better than the movie, though the movie was still enjoyable. ~ Bonus Quote“The main thing to do is pay attention. Pay close attention to everything, notice what no one else notices. Then you’ll know what no one else knows, and that’s always useful.” 



August 4: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan (Kindle Edition) – Now first off I must say that I did enjoy this book (number 3 in the Percy Jackson series), however, it didn’t draw me in like the others did and it didn’t start where I expected it to. I can’t really go into details why or I’d spoil everything so I’ll just move on. Percy is 14 now, and like all 14 year old hero’s he needs to save the world (again) or at least another step in the overall saving of the world, I mean this is only book 3 and there are several more after this one. Anyway, Percy now has a new ally, Zeus’ daughter Thalia, who we last saw beside the tree that used to be, well, her. Thalia was a big issue for me for most of the book, I just couldn’t really get into her, there was hardly any character development so it was hard to empathize with where she was as a person, or even in that cosmos. It got better toward the very end but I just didn’t care for her most of the time. We did get to see a few new gods, yeah I love me some Greek mythological figures, Artemis & Apollo and a few others but they are the main two in this story and of course Ares usually pops in to annoy Percy. So, overall the story was good, it started off slow and I wasn’t feeling it, but it did pick up halfway through and became almost as enjoyable as the first two. ~  Bonus Quote:  ‘Wow,’ Thalia muttered, ‘Apollo is hot.’ ‘He’s the sun god,’ I said. ‘That’s not what I meant.'”

August 8: Fallen Grace by Mary Hooper (Kindle Edition) – I will be frank, I don’t remember a lot about this book, it just was really boring to me, and depressing. It does have tons and tons of good reviews, so if you like historical fiction than you may like this. I just couldn’t get into it, it did try a little hard to sound like the ‘classic writer’ (i.e. Dickens, Austen etc.) Anything bad that could happen to someone, it seemed to happen to Grace and in that day in time we just treated women like trash and moved on with life. Maybe, I’ll try to re-read this sometime when I get into that ‘right frame of mind’ but it was just ‘meh’.


August 9: Wolf Signs by Vivian Arend (Kindle Edition) – This book was interesting, it was just a Hodge podge of genres. We have paranormal, romance, a little erotica and a little more thrown in with some self discovery, and there’s the book. Robyn is our main character who was adopted, she and her brother always go out to a lake and do outdoorsy stuff in the blistering cold, but her brother can’t go. She of course goes alone and there is a group cabin that anyone can use whenever. She is the only one there, at first, and she gets all comfy and enter Keil and his accident-prone little brother. Keil and family are ‘werewolves’ (really they are shifters but call themselves werewolves) and everything just kind of snowballs from there. Anyway, it’s an OK read, it’s fast, if you don’t mind a lot of sexual tension, sarcasm and then the sex, then you might like this one.

One thought on “My Life in Books – August Part 1

Leave a Reply

