Spiced Applesauce Bread

Last night, after dinner, which was a Moroccan Lamb with rice and brocolli, I decided it was time to make this bread. My loaf pan was in the dishwasher, so I decided to just use a round casserole dish. My son also helped stir everything so he enjoyed himself, until his arm got tired. Usually I put these strips around the pan that are soaked in water, it helps whatever is baking to cook evently and not have those ridges. The edges tend to cook faster than the center. And they work really, really well, I just forgot this time. You can get those strips anywhere, Michaels, JoAnn’s maybe even Walmart, they are worth it. Anyway, my husband thought the name of this bread sounded gross, so I just told him it was Apple Bread.

After it was all cooked and cool enough to handle I just flipped the dish over and the bread slid right out, I use Baker’s Joy to spray down my baked good dishes. I cut it up and split the first piece with the husband. OH MY it was fantastic, it had that hint of cinnamon, that made my house smell like fall, and the brown sugar and cinnamon on top was just so yummy. Thankfully, I will only have that half piece, one slice went to school today for a snack for my son and the rest went to my husbands work. Now I’m ready for more fall baking, I love the smell of Cinnamon, Cloves & Allspice. However, with school and everything my time is just spread thin.

Of course I’ll hand you the original recipe, I did make some very slight modifications. I only added 1/8 cup of pecans, I’m not a big fan of nuts in my bread/desserts and usually I just leave them out, but it wasn’t for me. There were no nuts on top of the bread just inside. And this isn’t a modification but I used the little applesauce cups, so I could send the rest to school. They are 4 oz each so you’ll need 2.5. The following original recipe comes from The Best of Southern Living Cookbook. My copy is so worn out, the pages are actually falling out!

Spiced Applesauce Bread

  • 1¼ c      applesauce
  • 1 c           granulated sugar
  • ½ c         vegetable oil
  • 2              large eggs
  • 3 T          milk
  • 2 c          flour
  • ½ t         baking powder
  • 1 t           baking soda
  • ¼ t         salt
  • ½ t         ground cinnamon
  • ¼ t         ground nutmeg
  • ¼ t         ground allspice
  • ½ c        pecans, chopped

Topping

  • 1 c          pecans, chopped
  • ¼ c        packed light brown sugar
  • ½ t         ground cinnamon

1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl; stir well.

2. Combine flour and next 6 ingredients; add to applesauce mixture, stir well. Fold in pecans. Pour batter into a greased 9×5-in. loaf pan. Combine topping ingredients and sprinkle over the batter in the pan.

3. Bake at 350°F (176°C) for 1 hour or until a tooth pick comes out clean. Cool in pan or wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely.

Leave a Reply

