A Few Caramels

Ok, so I decided to make these on a whim, and yes this was the only pic I got (sorry).  In case you’re wondering they are caramels and chocolate caramels. I was going to make caramels with chocolate-sea salt topping, but I ran out of syrup. Luckily these didn’t stay in the house but they were really yummy. They were also really buttery and soft, I would cut back on the butter if I were to make these again. I did prefer the chocolate though.

I found the recipe in the newest Betty Crocker Cookbook that I received randomly, and as a surprise, one day in the mail from Tablespoon.com. Anyway I tried to find the recipe online, on that website, but to no avail. So I will post the recipe for the chocolate ones below. I will hopefully have some cookies up here soon, and sorry for being so  sporadic, life is busy these days.

Happy Baking!

Chocolate Caramels

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 cups whipping (heavy) cream
  • 3/4 cup light corn syrup
  1. In an 8×8 or 9×9 inch square dish, line with foil with foil edges overlapping and spray foil with cooking spray.
  2. Heat all ingredients to boiling in heavy 3-quart saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly. Cook about 35 minutes, stirring frequently, to 245°F on candy thermometer or until small amount of mixture dropped into cup of very cold water forms a firm ball that holds its shape until pressed. Immediately pour into baking dish. Cool completely, about 2 hours.
  3. Cut into 8 rows by 8 rows, using kitchen scissors or sharp knife. Wrap individually in waxed paper or plastic wrap. Store wrapped candies in airtight container at room temperature.
You can use kitchen shears, but I found that a sharp knife was A LOT easier to use.
Leave a Reply

