Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

So this week I made some Oatmeal Raisin Cookies from my handy dandy Betty Crocker Cookbook, and they were pretty yummy! I haven’t made this type of cookie in a while, but I always have oats on hand and really the only thing I had to buy were the raisins. I know a lot of parents have raisins in their pantries, but my kiddo isn’t a fan of the dried out grape (unless they are covered in yogurt). However, he did get to eat 2 cookies out of the batch, and he LOVED them. (I don’t usually keep a lot of sweets around the house, I’m not a fun mom I guess, but my almost 7 year old loves his fruits and veggies.)

These were really simple, and I know some people add nuts to these (I don’t really like nuts in my desserts). Anyway the recipe is below and it whips up really quickly, Also I love the boxes I picked up at the end of year sale at Target, I think I payed $0.75 a box and I had this one snowflake one (below) and the rest are all sweets, like cupcakes and stuff SO cute! Another side note, when baking cookies I love the Airbake cookie sheets it takes a little longer to bake, but they cook evenly and slide of the pan pretty easily as well. I have 2 big ones and a small one. I put one in at a time, so the cookies are cooling while another sheet is baking.

Happy Baking!

 

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

from Tablespoon.com

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4  cups packed brown sugar
  • 1  cup butter or margarine (2 sticks), room temperature
  • 1  teaspoon baking soda
  • 1  teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1  teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2  teaspoon salt
  • 2  large eggs
  • 3  cups old-fashioned or quick-cooking oats
  • 1 1/3  cups all-purpose flour
  • 1  cup raisins

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, stir the brown sugar, butter, baking soda, cinnamon, vanilla, salt and eggs with a wooden spoon until well mixed. Stir in the oats, flour and raisins until mixed.
  2. For each cookie, scoop a rounded tablespoonful of dough, using a tableware spoon, and push it onto an ungreased cookie sheet with another spoon or rubber spatula, placing cookies 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until light brown. Remove cookies from cookie sheets to a cooling rack, using a turner. Cool cookie sheets 10 minutes between batches.

Leave a Reply

