Dead Witch Walking

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison (Kindle Edition) – Read February 15, 2012

Cost: $7.99 (As of This Post)

Official Description: (This is book 1 of The Hollows series) (372 pages)

All the creatures of the night gather in “the Hollows” of Cincinnati, to hide, to prowl, to party … and to feed.Vampires rule the darkness in a predator-eat-predator world rife with dangers beyond imagining — and it’s Rachel Morgan’s job to keep that world civilized.A bounty hunter and witch with serious sex appeal and an attitude, she’ll bring ’em back alive, dead … or undead.

Quote: “Most of the upper management of I.S. were undead. I always thought it was because the job was easier if you didn’t have a soul.”

My Take: The description of this books (and the cover) make this seem like it’ll be some steamy romance book, don’t be scared off there’s about zero romance in this book, there’s potential for romance in future books, but I wouldn’t classify this as a romance. It’s just straight up Urban Fantasy or Paranormal Fantasy whichever you’d like to label it as.

Anyway, Rachel Morgan’s a witch, a good witch, but nothing is going right for her, in this dystopian-esque world that is called post-“The Turn” the paranormals are pretty much in charge, Rachel trys to leave her work and a hit is put out on her and now she’s considered dead by pretty much everyone. She rooms with a living Vamp and a pixie who help keep her safe. I really like the bad guy in the story and for some reason I find him a bit charming, I’m way too into the bad guys I guess. Nick was intriguing, hope to see more of him in the future. The story was ok, it was great in parts and lagged in other areas, 3/4 of the way through I was ready for it to be over. Though, I did enjoy it, from what I’ve read, this series gets better. I would have like a little bit of romance and less needy and whiny. Rachel is supposed to be some kickin’ witch but currently she’s full of self-doubt and paranoia (granted she’s being hunted and everyone’s trying to kill her).  I think there’s a lot of potential in this series, and it’s a long series it seems, so I’ll pick up #2 sometime fairly soon.

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

