Telesa

Telesa by Lani Wendt Young (Kindle Edition) – Read March 5, 2012

Cost: $4.99 (As of This Post) Free with Amazon Prime with a Kindle Device

Book Trailer: (This is book 1 of the The Covenant Keeper series)

 

My Take: I don’t know much about Samoa, in fact I know next to nothing, but it was described so beautifully in this story that I didn’t have a hard time imagining it. This was such a well written story everything was just so well done. You could sense every smell, texture, taste, emotion and it was like you’re right there in the book. The characters are all very dynamic and it’s hard not to empathize with them all, even Nafanua. There were instances though were I wanted to guide them to where they would eventually end up, but I wanted them to realize things way before they did. There was a lot of foreshadowing, I thought, but the characters didn’t make the connections as soon as I’d hope. That’s ok though they all had such a great journey, and there was a lot of self discovery, Leila has to come to terms with her whole heritage and that’s quite an undertaking. At first, I wanted the story to get to the point, then I kept reading, and the setting was so breath-taking (I think I’m getting repetitive here) and the characters so interesting, I didn’t mind learning more about them before we starting getting into what the telesa were. I also like how connected Leila was with her father, it seems rare that daughters have any kind of connection with their dad’s in stories, they had such a positive relationship and that helps define who she is in the long run, so that’s always nice to see. Telesa is most definitely worth reading, it almost seems like a cozy and comforting read, with a bit crazy thrown in.

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

