Vex

 Vex by Addison Moore (Kindle Edition) – Read  May 9, 2012

Cost: $3.99 (As of This Post)

Official Description: (This is book 5 of the Celestra series)

Seventeen year-old, Skyla Messenger finds herself lying on an altar as a sacrifice to the enemy.

Being an angel of the highest Nephilim order hasn’t been easy. Her first love has cast his allegiance to the Countenance, the Sectors and the Fems see her as nothing more than a celestial pawn, and the dead girl she helped bring back to life has blackmailed her into relinquishing her boyfriend.

Skyla is determined to change all that. She’s decided to never trust Logan again, to turn the tables on the Sectors and the Fems, and get dirt on Chloe to blackmail her into leaving Gage alone. But, when one obstacle after another gets in her way, Skyla can hardly find the strength to carry on. The only solution seems to be to sacrifice herself to the Sector in her life and put everything in order while losing everything she values most.

My Take:

I just finished this book and oh what a roller coaster Ms. Moore put me through. I don’t know how many more books are going to be in this series, but it’s fairy enjoyable.

First I want to start off with the ‘bad’ aspects. I mean, bad is relative of course, so I guess I’ll just describe my least favorite part of the story. First off, Skyla is kinda slutty….slutty without loosing her “v-card” but still I mean she’s all up on everyone. Yeah at 17 your hormones are all over the place and with hot guys throwing themselves at you I can see the temptations. Still, though, be decisive Skyla…pick a man, they all have their pros and cons. Second, Skyla is just so…unaware of what’s going on, not in a major way, but she is  so one tracked on deciding on whether to get down and dirty, and getting Gage back she’s kind of missing the point to this upcoming faction war, and the obvious events she’s blind to around her. Oh and Logan, ug, I can’t decide about Logan.Ok, that’s it, that would be my least favorite part of the story, now on to the good stuff…

I do like that Skyla is kind of bad ass, I mean she can deal with Fems and Counts on her but, all the death and mayhem that’s going on around her, she can kind of handle it all. I love Gage, I HOPE that she ends up with him in the end, or Marshall, I know that’s weird, but I kind of like him. He is so honest about his manipulation of everything around him, but he seems to really dig Skyla, even if it’s only for her genes. I Ms. Moore’s writing style, I think this story  is great, I don’t think it can go on much longer, so I hope that everything starts wrapping up in the next few books.  I am eager to see how this series turns out, and I can’t wait to pick up Expel!

Quote:

“ Sometimes duplicity and treason are markers of the enemy, and sometimes, the failed intention of a masterful ally. But, nevertheless, as they burden you with a vexing brand of love, they become nothing more than the kiss of Judas, pressing a crown of thorns into your flesh.”

Up Next:

 

One thought on “Vex

Leave a Reply

