Vanilla Mousse Cheesecake

Alright, I really should make my husband take these pictures for me, because well, I’m a horrible camera lady. Oh well.

I know it’s been awhile since I posted any food type blogs, but I always forget to take pictures, and how boring is it to just read with no pictures? I decided to bring out the camera this time and try to photograph this cheesecake, and well, I got 2 pictures….I was also making dinner so, I got distracted. I will TRY to pop some more cooking things in this summer.

I found this little cheesecake recipe in a magazine, and it’s actually an advertisement for Philadelphia Cream Cheese, but I hardly ever use that brand, unless there’s some great sale. I found this recipe on the Kraft Food website as well (Link Below). Now normally I’m not a fan of the Kraft recipe’s. I used to get the Food and Family recipe magazine. It was FANTASTIC, when my husband and I were starting out and I was learning to cook. The recipe’s are cheap and simple. Then I started learning and growing and realizing how unhealthy and not tasty most of the recipes were, they can be tasty if you completely change them though. Maybe they taste great, but our tastes changed. Who knows, but I digress. I did like this recipe, and I didn’t really make any changes! I did change the type of cool whip. I used a vanilla cool whip that I was lucky enough to find. I say lucky because the vanilla flavor is seasonal and I happened across some a few months ago and bought several. 🙂

First off the crust:

I will go ahead and tell you now that I found 1.5 cups of vanilla wafers was too much. I wound up tossing 1/2 a cup. One cup is standard in cheesecakes. Also, I like using unsalted butter, and I actually used to use margarine, until I realized how horribly bad for you margarine is. So now I use unsalted butter, and Texas butter at that!

Ok, The cake:

Isn’t that a horrible picture? Oh well, I am using it because you can see my new spring form! It’s yellow, as if you can’t see that. My darling husband left took my red one to someones’ house and decided they should keep it. Which is fine, since I’m redoing my kitchen in bright colors. My husband thought I had iced this cheese cake, which I guess it looks like I did, but the cool whip did add some yum to the cake.

Ok now it’s time for the recipe (click the title for the original recipe on the Kraft site).

Enjoy, have a great summer and Happy Baking!

Vanilla Mousse Cheesecake

1½ c                crushed vanilla wafers
3 T                   butter, melted
4 pkg               cream cheese, divided and softened
1 c                   sugar, divided
1T + 1t           vanilla, divided
3                      eggs
1 tub                cool whip, preferably vanilla, thawed

Heat oven to 325°F. Mix wafer crumbs and butter and press into the bottom of  a 9-inch springform pan. Spray edges of pan with floured cooking spray.

Beat 3 packages of cream cheese, ¾ cup of sugar and 1 Tablespoon of vanilla on medium until well blended and smooth, add 3 eggs, one at a time on low. Mix until well blended.

Bake 50-55 minutes or until center is nearly set. Cool completely.

Beat remaining sugar, cream cheese and vanilla until well blended. Carefully stir in cool whip and spread on top of cool cheesecake. Refrigerate a minimum of 4 hours.

Leave a Reply

