Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ok, I know I’ve been book crazy, and honestly that’ll probably not change, but I’ll try to put in some more cooking stuff. Alright so my husband has been cookie crazy lately, and I didn’t want to keep making the same cookies all the time. He prefers chocolate chip. So I of course made him some chocolate chip cookies, then I made my FAVORITE cookies (I should blog those!) which are no bake cookies. Finally wrapping up the cookie craze we have the mint chocolate chip cookies and they were yummy. I unfortunately tried some, bad me I don’t need sweets. Most of the cookies went with him to work but we left a handful at home. Oh I found this recipe in a magazine ad, but it’s also online at Tablespoon.com

So, I got a bit hurried and did a big no, no by softening my butter in the microwave and whoops to long since there is some slight meltage. Normal I plan out my baking so the butter is sitting on the counter forever before I bake, but this was impromptu, kind of. I actually bought the mix to make these a few weeks ago but forgot about them. Also, if I were doing this again I wouldn’t use the mix because I DID have to add some milk because it was dry.

 So, these are the chips I used, and you just need a cup of each so there will be some left overs. I love ghiradelli, so far it’s my favorite baking chocolate out there. I’ve used Andes mints before on the mint chocolate chip cupcakes I made a while back. They are yummy, and they’re just the chopped up versions of the little green chocolates that some restaurants pass out.

I think I added too much food coloring to these, because they did make me feel like I was playing with playdough. They still look good. I sprayed my pans down with powdered baking spray, and I use those air pans so if you have one as well you should be aware that they will take longer to bake. When mixing be sure that the mix isn’t too dry, if it is go ahead and add some milk or water. Add it a tablespoon at a time, you don’t want it to be soggy.

Oh here is the final product the green cookies, fresh out of the oven. They are great, they are not overwhelming with the mintyness and they look pretty good too! I had intended to use my cookie scoop, but I just went the old-fashioned way and plopped some dough down out of a spoon. So they aren’t ‘perfect’ but really, who cares? They would have been consumed no matter what.

Well happy baking everyone, and stay cool this summer!

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1  pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker® sugar cookie mix
  • 1/2  cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/4  to 1/2 teaspoon mint extract
  • 6  to 8 drops green food color
  • 1  egg
  • 1  cup creme de menthe baking chips
  • 1  cup semisweet chocolate chunks

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, stir cookie mix, butter, extract, food color and egg until soft dough forms. Stir in creme de menthe baking chips and chocolate chunks.
  2. Using small cookie scoop or teaspoon, drop dough 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Cool 3 minutes; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Serve warm or cool completely. Store tightly covered at room temperature.
Leave a Reply

