Everblue

Everblue

by Brenda Pandos
Kindle Edition – Read  June 27, 2012

Cost: $0.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 305 pages

Official Description: (This is book 1 of the Mer Tales series)

Best friends share everything with each other. Or do they? Seventeen-year-old Ashlyn Frances Lanski is tired of her boring, single life. Spending time with her best friend Tatiana, dreaming about kissing Tatiana’s twin brother Fin, and swimming competitively are her only sanctuary. The girls plan to leave their drab lakeside town far behind for college. But when Tatchi fails to return home after a family emergency, and no one knows where the family has gone, Ash chooses to do something drastic to find them.

Ashlyn is about to discover what she’d thought to be true her whole life, wasn’t, and the truth, too fantastical to imagine. Secrets lurk beneath the deep blue waters of Lake Tahoe, secrets that will change Ashlyn’s life forever.

My Take:

I don’t think I’ve read a mermaid book before. I’ve seen Splash and The Little Mermaid, but I don’t think those count. Needless to say my mermaid lore is limited except what was in mythology, but this book has been on my to read list for a while and I LOVE the cover. Anyway, I did like this book more than I expected to, however it’s one of those book that you know how things are going to end up from the very beginning. Knowing that it was the anticipation of what’s to come and the journey to get there that was entertaining. Yes I had expectations of how this book would end but there were still a few surprises along the way. I didn’t like how some relationships between Ash and other characters ended because there were still a lot of questions left and it was like she just forgot about those characters. Also there are a lot of questions or holes in the story, but then again I think it’s because this is only the first part of the series so if everything was answered in book 1 you wouldn’t want to read book 2 or 3. Anyway overall I did enjoy the writing of this author, I liked the characters and the world that was created. This was a very good book, much better than a lot of other young adult books that are out there.

Quote:

“His lips touched mine and golden heat tickled my skin. Something within my heart released, like a bird soaring toward freedom. Only there did I feel complete. Like his kiss was the key that popped open the lock in my heart, setting me free.”

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

