The Long Way Home

The Long Way Home

by Joss Whedon (Author), Georges Jeanty (Illustrator)
Paperback Edition – Read  June 27, 2012

Cost: $10.87 (As of This Post)

Length: 136 pages

Official Description: (Season 8 Vol. 1 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic series)

Since the destruction of the Hellmouth, the Slayers – newly legion – have gotten organized and are kicking some serious undead butt. But not everything’s fun and firearms, as an old enemy reappears and Dawn experiences some serious growing pains. Meanwhile, one of the “Buffy” decoy slayers is going through major pain of her own. Buffy creator Joss Whedon brings Buffy back to Dark Horse in this direct follow-up to season seven of the smash-hit TV series. The bestselling and critically acclaimed issues #1-5 are collected here for the first time, as are their covers by Jo Chen and Georges Jeanty.

My Take:

Back in the day I was a devoted Buffy viewer, I watched all the episodes at least 3 times, I owned all the box sets. I knew the musical numbers, I watched all the commentary and all the special features for the whole of the series. (Hmm. Maybe I shouldn’t be admitting to all that, but hey when it came out I was in High School and then continued through college…). When the show was cancelled for the second time, I was mixed with emotion. I was happy, because the series just wasn’t the same when it switched networks but it hadn’t gotten to the point of awefulness. I was sad, because I REALLY liked the show, yeah, looking back on it now I see the cheese factor, but who cares, Buffy was a kick ass character. Oh I Digress.

When I found out Joss was going to continue Buffy in comic form I was excited, kind of, at the point of original release I had never picked up a comic book, and then life got in the way until today, when I happened upon this book and had to pick it up. (Wow talk about some run-on sentence issues!) So, it’s been awhile since I watched season seven of Buffy, and I was a little rusty on some things. As the story unfolded it did come rushing back to me. There is some new lore going on though and a lot more magic going on so as of finishing this story, I still don’t know what all is happening. BUT season 8 has eight books to it, so I am pretty sure it will be flushed out, because well what isn’t in the Joss universe? The villans don’t feel villany quite yet, they are mostly just meh, I’m sure there’s some more big bads coming, but the ones in this story weren’t great. I mean eww, flashing back to that one episode of Buffy where Warren gets skinned by Willow was a memory I could have lived without. Mainly I felt like this book was just dipping the toe back into the water that I’ve been away from for a while. I did like getting back into the world of Buffy, even though it is drastically different from the series, it isn’t perfect, but I still loved it.

Now I need to go re-watch the final season of Buffy again.

Quote:

“The thing about changing the world… Once you do it, the world’s all different.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

