Beyond the Highland Mist

Beyond the Highland Mist

by Karen Marie Moning
Kindle Edition – Read  June 30, 2012

Cost: $7.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 338 pages

Official Description: (This is book 1 of the Highlander series)

He would sell his warrior soul to possess her. . . .
An alluring laird…
He was known throughout the kingdom as Hawk, legendary predator of the battlefield and the boudoir. No woman could refuse his touch, but no woman ever stirred his heart—until a vengeful fairy tumbled Adrienne de Simone out of modern-day Seattle and into medieval Scotland. Captive in a century not her own, entirely too bold, too outspoken, she was an irresistible challenge to the sixteenth-century rogue. Coerced into a marriage with Hawk, Adrienne vowed to keep him at arm’s length—but his sweet seduction played havoc with her resolve.
A prisoner in time…
She had a perfect “no” on her perfect lips for the notorious laird, but Hawk swore she would whisper his name with desire, begging for the passion he longed to ignite within her. Not even the barriers of time and space would keep him from winning her love. Despite her uncertainty about following the promptings of her own passionate heart, Adrienne’s reservations were no match for Hawk’s determination to keep her by his side. . . .

My Take:

My goodness, I love Karen Marie Moning. She has a writing style and a way of drawing out characters and worlds that’s just amazing. Granted, when I began reading this book, I thought it was a bit stuffy. I don’t think I’ve read anything about Highlanders, in fact when some one says Highlanders I automatically think of the Christopher Lambert movie/show and in my mind all highlanders are sword wielding dudes that have to cut off people’s heads. I do realize that highlanders refer to people from the highlands of Scotland, but still that’s what comes to mind. Any how, this book was more romancey than I expected, I did read the Fever series first, and now I wish I would have read this series first. They seem to somehow tie in together. I did like the connection of Hawk and Adrienne, and the way their story unfolded. It wasn’t really romantic but it worked well. The fact that Adrienne was yanked out of 1997 America and thrown into 1513 Scotland was interesting because the really wasn’t much time shock or culture shock going on. Which is I guess why she was picked but I’d thought there would big a bigger deal with the time travel. Hawks transition from jumping from one bed to the next to settling down seemed to come rather abruptly too. The transitions just seemed to be a bit off, but I’m sure this was done to move the story along instead of dragging it out. Overall I really enjoyed the story and I think I will enjoy this series, but I hope there is more action in the later books. I don’t mean sexy action either, because there was PLENTY of that in this one, but more I don’t know, what I mean but I look forward to the next few books.

Quote:

“Valhalla on the right. Paradise regained on the left. Stuck between a Godiva truffle and a chocolate eclair. Between a rock and a very hard place. Two very hard places from the looks of it.”

Up Next:

2 thoughts on “Beyond the Highland Mist

  1. KMM has a lot of Highlander book out that she wrote before she had written the Fever series. Some of them do tie into the Fever series. You get to know who they are when you meet them in the last Fever book.

Leave a Reply

