Glass Houses

Glass Houses

by Rachel Caine
Paperback Edition – Read  July 1, 2012

Cost: $6.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 260 pages

Official Description: (This is book 1 of the Morganville Vampires series)

It’s a small college town filled with quirky characters. But when the sun goes down, the bad comes out. Because in Morganville, there is an evil that lurks in the darkest shadows—one that will spill out into the bright light of day.

Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. The popular girls never let her forget just where she ranks on the school’s social scene: somewhere less than zero. And Claire really doesn’t have the right connections—to the undead who run the town.

When Claire heads off campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Hew new roommates don’t show many signs of life. But they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood..

My Take:

I have been hearing about the Morganville Vampire series for quite sometime now. I’ve also heard how awesome Rachel Caine is as an author and this has been sitting on my bookshelves for a while now so I finally decided to pick it up. As I started reading this I realized Ms. Caine is a Texas author, and I’m all about showing support for my home state but the last Texas author I read was not the greatest story-teller so I went in with low expectations. At first I didn’t know where this book was going, but I was trucking right along getting to know Claire and in some unknown part of this book I was hooked. I liked Claire and her never give up sixteen year old attitude. Also I would hate to live in Morganville, I mean that town seems scary as all get up. I don’t know why you’d subject yourself to that kind of lifestyle, I’d grab me a UHAUL and get on out, or say screw it and just abandon my stuff and leave with my family and it’s sanity. I love how they talk about the heat a lot, like it being a toaster oven, I find it amusing because a cool Texas Summer is 96 and is usually in the triple digits sometimes until October. So calling walking outside feeling like a toaster oven is totally a viable statement. I don’t know what it was about this story that I liked so much, maybe because it is a change of pace from the lovey dovey vamps that are so popular these days. Maybe it’s the character interactions and great pacing. I don’t know but this story really did pull me in. I’ve already ordered book #2 and am looking at some of Rachel Caine’s other series. I do think that this story could be more for high school kids and up, just because there is some sexual awareness going on, I mean there’s not sex but we are dealing with college kids now and there are some sex mentioning and warm bodily feelings.

Quote:

“Damn, Claire. Warn a guy before you do a face-plant on the floor next time. I could have looked all heroic and caught you or something.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

