American Vampire, Vol. 1

by Scott Snyder, Stephen King, Rafael Albuquerque (Illustrator)
Hardback Edition – Read  July 11, 2012

Cost: $15.51(As of This Post)
$9.99 on Kindle

Length: 200 pages

Official Description: (This is Volume 1 of the American Vampire graphic novels)

This volume follows two stories: one written by Snyder and one written by King. Snyder’s story is set in 1920’s LA, we follow Pearl, a young woman who is turned into a vampire and sets out on a path of righteous revenge against the European Vampires who tortured and abused her. This story is paired with King’s story, a western about Skinner Sweet, the original American Vampire– a stronger, faster creature than any vampire ever seen before with rattlesnake fangs and powered by the sun.

My Take:

I have been reading quite a few graphic novels lately, in the last month I’ve read more than I have in my entire life. I’ve been going crazy. This one is my favorite so far. The story telling is excellent the art is really well done, though it took me a while to get used to. I just thoroughly enjoyed this book. The American vampire drawn reminds me so much of an anime I’ve seen, Claymore, but I couldn’t find any good pictures to link, but when it first popped up that’s the first thing I thought of. So according to Stephen King’s intro this was the first comic he’s written and it’s been a long time since I’ve read any of his books. I thought his story flowed really well with Zack Snyder’s story line. King gave the back story to the first American vamp, Skinner Sweet and Snyder wrote the story of our cover lady, Pearl, as she discovers Vamps and her story which crosses paths with Mr. Sweet.  King went out of his way in the intro to diss Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight and the wussey vamps of the young adult genre that would rather brood and sparkle. His goal was to make vamps what they’re meant to be, scary bad asses that will give your children nightmares. Ok, it’s not that scary, but it’s a far cry from the Cullens these vamps are all about killing, power and revenge.

Quote:

“In the end, though, it’s all about giving back the teeth that the current ‘sweetie-vamp’ craze has, by and large, stolen from the bloodsuckers. It’s about making them scary again.”

Up Next:

One thought on “American Vampire, Vol. 1

Leave a Reply

