Dark Frost

Dark Frost

by Jennifer Estep
Kindle Edition – Read  July 13, 2012

Cost: $7.01 (As of This Post)

Length: 401 pages

Official Description: (This is book 3 of the Mythos Academy series)

I’ve seen so many freaky things since I started attending Mythos Academy last fall. I know I’m supposed to be a fearless warrior, but most of the time, I feel like I’m just waiting for the next Bad, Bad Thing to happen. Like someone trying to kill me—again.

Everyone at Mythos Academy knows me as Gwen Frost, the Gypsy girl who uses her psychometry magic to find lost objects—and who just may be dating Logan Quinn, the hottest guy in school. But I’m also the girl the Reapers of Chaos want dead in the worst way. The Reapers are the baddest of the bad, the people who murdered my mom. So why do they have it in for me?

It turns out my mom hid a powerful artifact called the Helheim Dagger before she died. Now, the Reapers will do anything to get it back. They think I know where the dagger is hidden, but this is one thing I can’t use my magic to find. All I do know is that the Reapers are coming for me—and I’m in for the fight of my life.

My Take:

Goodness, where should I start on this book. I have actually been looking forward to reading this one, and I really like the fact that the author has been putting these books out in a fairly rapid pace, so her fans don’t have to keep waiting for the next one. (Which is set to release on Christmas Eve of this year and #5 is set to release in August of next year). Dark Frost is the darkest of the  Mythos books that have been released thus far, though the prequel did deal with some dark subject matters. The thing I don’t like the most is the redundancies, “Oh you didn’t read the other books let’s just recap everything for the entire book for you”. I wish authors would do an episode recap type thing before the novel begins so you get a refresher but it doesn’t drag down the story. I would appreciate the author so much more if this occurred. Also Gwen would be bitten and slapped by a snake if it were in front of her, I mean there are so many clues that her powers, and life around her, has given her but she just seems really dense. Don’t get me wrong, Gwen’s becoming more badass as the stories go, but man she’s missing that common sense gene or something. Ok, I did like the story, and I liked that it went in a darker direction than I had expected. I am also glad that Nott is in the picture because she’s just awesome and sweet. I think Logan is a great love interest for Gwen, if they can ever pull themselves together and Gwen has some pretty awesome friends. I do wish the story would play out in some different type of formula, but I guess you stick to what works. I can’t wait to see where the story is going to go from here, especially since there was a sneak peek for book #4 (The whole first chapter) and it promises to be a good one.

Quote:

“You’re that Gypsy girl, and I’m the bad-boy Spartan. And I think it’s time we were finally together, don’t you?”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

