Shadows’ Edge

Shadow’s Edge

by J.T. Geissinger
Kindle Edition – Read  July 18, 2012

Cost: $7.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 359 pages

Official Description: (This is book 1 of the Night Prowler series)

Deep within the primeval forests of southern England, a tribe of mysterious beings lives hidden from the everyday world. Beautiful, savage, and graced with the ability to shift from human to vapor to lethal predator, the Ikati are bound together by ancient bloodlines and a code of secrecy that punishes traitors with death. Half a world away, on the sun-drenched shores of Southern California, Jenna Moore’s past is shrouded in mystery. She spent her childhood in hiding, on the run from someone?or something?her parents refused to discuss. She trusts no one, not since her mother’s sudden death, not since her father’s mysterious disappearance, and definitely not since she began exhibiting strange, superhuman abilities. But when the handsome, enigmatic Leander McLoughlin appears out of the blue, promising her the answers she so desperately wants, Jenna takes a leap of faith. She agrees to accompany him to England in return for the truth about her origins, never suspecting the shattering revelations that await her there. For once among the Ikati, Jenna faces an extraordinary birthright she never dreamed possible?and a dangerous, sensual destiny she may not survive to see.

My Take:

In the last month or so I’ve been seeing this book all over Amazon and Goodreads. I think I was drawn to it partially because of the cover and curiosity. I mean mostly I really liked the cover…it’s pretty. So, my luck with reading books by looking at a pretty cover is hit and miss so I went into this with low expectations. I was altogether pleased by the story when it was all said and done, I mean with shifter romance book there is an air of predictability, you know there is going to be a lot of tension and fighting off the whole ‘mate’ thing and shifters are more animalistic in nature so nudity and sex aren’t a big deal. The points of view in this story (and I may have missed one) are mostly from Jenna and Leander’s view with an occasional throw in from Morgan. So you’ve got a pretty good idea how everyone feels, and it can get frustrated with the, “I love you, but you don’t love me.” from BOTH of the characters, you would think that Leander would have a clue with what was going on since he lived in the world of the Ikati his whole life, but he’s clueless part of the time and it’s can be rather annoying. I am curious about Christian, he seems like he’d be an interesting focal point to a story, but we just never really find too much out about him. I don’t think that I was really surprised by any of the plot devices used, but the world building and the pacing were done really well. I really enjoyed the Ikati world, all the shifters I’ve read about are wolves (and that one armadillo…which was weird) so panthers were a nice break. Too me they just see more elegant and graceful, maybe because I’ve always been fond of cats, but I did enjoy the panthers more than the wolves I’ve read in the past. I can’t wait until October 2nd, so I can see what’s next in the world of the Ikati!

Quote:

“Do not ever underestimate a woman, son, or make the foolish mistake of trying to bend her to your will. She may flatter you and smile and even seem to agree, but in the end she’ll cut out your heart, feed your body to the wolves, and then enjoy a good night’s sleep.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

