Devilishly Hot

Devilishly Hot

by Kathy Love
Kindle Edition – Read  August 2, 2012

Cost: $7.19 (As of This Post)

Length: 321 pages

Official Description:

And you thought your job was hell. . .

Annie Lou Riddle had a plan: Move to New York City. Break into the fashion industry. Work her way to the top. Nowhere in that scenario did she expect to accidentally sell her soul in exchange for a job at Hot Magazine. Oops.

Demons, it seems, aren’t big on letting mortals off the hook. Now Annie is stuck working as assistant/personal slave to Finola White-diva extraordinaire, and glamorous she-devil. Whatever Finola wants, she gets, and she wants Annie to match her up with Nick Rossi, the gorgeous detective investigating shady doings at Hot!

Frankly, Annie sees the appeal. Nick is effortlessly sexy, rugged, charming-and the one man Annie should definitely not be flirting with, or kissing, or. . . Oops. But some loves are too devilishly hot to resist. . .

My Take:

I have read one other book by Kathy Love before and I found it to be rather enjoyable, from what I remembered, and I thought I’d grab this one because the premise was interesting. This book is supposed to be a Devil Wears Prada except there are actual demons and souls up for grabs.  I didn’t really like The Devil Wears Prada, I mean I liked the movie, but I couldn’t stand the book. I tolerated this a bit better than DWP but not much more. I just didn’t really feel for the characters or their predicaments. The romance wasn’t all that romantic and the demons were evil, but not too much, not enough to have a sense of fear or apprehension for the characters. This story is an easy and quick read and there were some amusing moments and all together the story wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t fantastic either. Maybe the shifting from POV’s just occurred too often, there were at least 4 different perspectives and really that can throw the story off and slow down the momentum. I don’t know I think this book in the hands of someone who loved DWP would really go over well and it does promise a follow-up book. This one just didn’t grasp me as much as I would have liked.

Quote:

“How do you feel about staging a coup with man’s best friend?”

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

