The Phantom Diaries

by Kailin Gow
Kindle Edition – Read  August 23, 2012

Cost: $0.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 220 pages

Official Description:

What happens to the Phantom after the tragedy at the Paris Opera House is the basis for this fantastic tale of The Phantom Diaries, loosely based on Gaston Leroux’s classic, The Phantom of the Opera, but with a new tale and a modern twist. This new series for older teens and young adults is told through the eyes of 18 year-old Annette Binoche, who lands a job at the New York Metropolitan Opera House as a seamstress’ assistant only to become the lead singer of the Opera House, with the help of the mysterious, yet highly-seductive Phantom.

My Take:

Ok, I love Phantom of the Opera, the musical; I liked the movie, never read the book. So, I stumbled upon this little story and thought “Hey this looks cool” and I liked the cover SO I had to read it. I’m glad I did, it was fairly entertaining. Don’t expect this to be a retelling of Phantom, because it’s not really, it is a story with throw backs to the originals but it’s not the same. Going into this book expecting something that it’s not is generally why people don’t like this series, they expect the same thing I guess. No this is a older young adult tale (college age or so) that is about a girl from Louisiana who goes to the MET in NYC to be a costumer and winds up becoming the star of a show. It so happens that the opera they are performing is the one ‘the phantom’ wrote in 19th century Paris and strange things start happening around the theatre. Yes this story does revolve, kinda, around the original but it’s a tale in itself. It’s not perfect and there are some cheesy aspect to it and my gosh that Annette needs to decide what man she wants because playing three guys is just not cool and it becomes exhausting for the reader. I really did like this story though and I will definitely pick up the next one.

Quote:

“The passion I feel for you is more than you’re prepared for.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

