Cthulhurotica

by Various (Listed in Tags for this book)
Kindle Edition – Read September 12, 2012

Cost: $3.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 346 pages

Official Description:

From independent publisher Dagan Books, Cthulhurotica is an exciting new anthology of erotic horror, inspired by the writing of H. P. Lovecraft.

This decadent collection contains unique creations of Mythos fiction, plus thought-provoking academic essays. In addition, the revised edition contains more than 20 pieces of original art.

With work by Cody Goodfellow, Kenneth Hite, Steven J. Scearce, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Gabrielle Harbowy, Matthew Marovich, Kirsten Brown, Richard Baron, Don Pizarro, K.V. Taylor, Jennifer Brozek, Galen Dara, Mae Empson, Nathan Crowder, Leon J. West, and many more …

My Take:

Yeah for book clubs opening up new reading experiences, usually I like the books I read in book clubs. Or at least they are relatively tolerable. I will say though that I have never ever, ever read H.P. Lovecraft, I don’t have that experience to appreciate this book, but I read it because it was the choice of the month. I just wasn’t into this, it wasn’t that it was strange, because really it was. Some of the stories were pretty good, but I just wasn’t into this. I don’t really care about the characters, I don’t care what they’re doing. The stories all just seemed really dull to me. They didn’t really have anything that pulled me in to want to keep reading. I don’t mind the whole ‘tentacle monster’ thing or the weirdness that goes with each story, but really it just wasn’t entertaining….for me. For you it may be, I really do think you need that Lovecraft immersion to fully appreciate this, they say you don’t, but I think you do. If you have doubts about picking this up read the sample that Amazon/Goodreads provides then decide from there if you’ll like it. I do think each of the authors have talent, it’s just the medium I guess, I don’t know, it just wasn’t for me.

 

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

