The Giver

by Lois Lowry
Kindle Edition – Read October 13, 2012

Cost: $5.59 (As of This Post)

Length: 204 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Giver Quartet 

Jonas’s world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

My Take:

I read this book many years ago when it was first released, I have vague memory of it, I remembered liking it, I think I remembered crying over it, but I didn’t really remember what it was about. With the quartet completed I decided to go back and re-read this book and it took me awhile to get into it. It’s written very simplistically (of course it’s written for kids) but there is just So much depth to it. I don’t think I could have possibly grasped all that was going on when I first read this book as a kid, but reading it as an adult it was just heart wrenching. This society has existed for many generations and science has somehow made it so everyone is the same, there is no color, there are no feelings, no one has choices and if you don’t fit into the mold you’re released. To be released sounds so gloriously wonderful to everyone until you realize what it entails. It’s just heartbreaking. What’s really sad is I bet if we could have this perfect society someone would try to go there, someone would try for sameness, for a perfectly moldable society that had no war, famine or strife but with the loss of everything that makes us human. It’s a well written book, it truly is, the beginning is slow, but gives you everything to understand the society that Jonas lives in, so when everything becomes clear there is just a great impact. Loved it.

Quote:

“We gained control of many things. But we had to let go of others.”

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

