The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier

by Ree Drummond
Kindle Edition – Read October 31, 2012

Cost: $11.99 (As of This Post)

Length: 283 pages

Official Description:

The enhanced e-book edition of The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier gives you behind-the-scenes access to Ree at home on her ranch. In it you’ll find videos of Ree cooking a bunch of her favorite recipes, six recipes not found in the book, and Ree’s list of her favorite movies and songs to cook to.

I’m Pioneer Woman. And I love to cook. Once upon a time, I fell in love with a cowboy. A strapping, rugged, chaps-wearing cowboy. Then I married him, moved to his ranch, had his babies . . . and wound up loving it. Except the manure. Living in the country for more than fifteen years has taught me a handful of eternal truths: every new day is a blessing, every drop of rain is a gift . . . and nothing tastes more delicious than food you cook yourself.

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier is a mouthwatering collection of the simple-but-scrumptious recipes that rotate through my kitchen on a regular basis, including Cowgirl Quiche, Sloppy Joes, Italian Meatball Soup, White Chicken Enchiladas, and a spicy Carnitas Pizza that’ll win you over for life. There are also some elegant offerings for more special occasions at your house: Osso Buco, Honey-Plum-Soy Chicken, and Rib-Eye Steak with an irresistible Onion-Blue Cheese Sauce. And the decadent assortment of desserts, including Blackberry Chip Ice Cream, Apple Dumplings, and Coffee Cream Cake, will make your heart go pitter-pat in the most wonderful way.

In addition to detailed step-by-step photographs, all the recipes in this book have one other important quality in common: They’re guaranteed to make your kids, sweetheart, dinner guests, in-laws, friends, cousins, or resident cowboys smile, sigh, and beg for seconds. (And hug you and kiss you and be devoted to you for life.)

I hope you enjoy, devour, and love this book. I sure did love making it for you.

My Take:

I love to cook, I do I love it so very much and I haven’t been doing it as much as I like, darn school. I found this book on sale on day and it was enhanced so I thought that it would be cool, but not the main reason that I bought this. I was disappointed to find out that the audio/video will only play on Apple products  I hate Apple, I do so dislike the company very, very much so this just made me mad that Amazon would restrict things like that especially when their own products (like the Fire) are fully capable of running said features but any how.

I still like the book, the recipes are simple, the pictures are gorgeous and they are fun to make and not necessarily too expensive either. The recipes are split into sections and on the Kindle you can’t just go right to a specific recipe easily, you have to go to the section and then to the recipe that you’re looking for. It is in full color and again it looks lovely on the Fire. My favorite was the Summer Stir-Fry with shrimp in which we turned into tacos and they were so great. I also really loved the twice baked new potatoes. Overall the book is great and easy to follow. I used to follow Pioneer Woman’s blog a while back but I haven’t gone there in a long time. The book/blog has a feel of a real person just someone who cooks for her family and loves doing it, which makes everything more relatable and the recipes that much more enjoyable. I am kind of glad I got this on my Kindle because it’s not taking up so much space….but on the other hand I tend to make lots of notes in my cookbooks and this made it a little more difficult. I mean yeah you can make notes on the kindle but it’s not the same. I think either version of the book is going to be fun, but also there aren’t as many recipes as I had hoped for but this IS her second cookbook after all.

 

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

