Circus of the Damned

by Laurell K. Hamilton
MP3 Audio Edition – Read November 6, 2012

Cost: $20.95 (As of This Post)

On Kindle: $7.99

Length: 332 pages

Official Description: This is book #3 of the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series

When a powerful centuries-old vampire hits Anita Blake’s town, a battle of the undead ensues.

My Take:

I have not figured out why I like these books yet. You’d think I’d have a finger on it since I’m on book #3, but I don’t. I’ve read these last to using the MP3 audio versions, and I do like the narrator  she does a fantastic job, but I can’t put a finger on what I like about this series. Maybe it’s the potential, maybe it’s the gruesome, horror like aspect that’s not too scary, because I don’t do scary. I just don’t know. I am ready for Anita to get a serious romantic partner, yeah, yeah she gets all date like in this book, but with all that blood shed and danger there needs to be a touch of romance. There’s a touch of sexual tension between Anita and Jean Claude, but she needs to get out there and do something besides maim, murder, fight for her life and raise zombies. Anita is a great character she’s wonderfully sarcastic, young but ‘old’, and very human, she’s breakable and not afraid to admit her flaws, even embracing them which makes her a likable and relatable character. I loved the challenges placed on the Master of the City via very old vamps and it kind of showed where Anita’s loyalties lay which could be interesting later on, but the same old formula seems to be in place. Anita goes and raises zombies, gets called by police to investigate a crime, life in jeopardy, saves the day. I get tired of formulas, I enjoy all the new mayhem, but the formulas do get old. Am I going to read book 4? Uh, yeah in fact the nice little paperback version is sitting on my bookshelf just waiting for me to pick it up. I just hope I can enjoy these just a little bit more in the future.

Quote:

“I just don’t believe in helping people who are going to torture me. Though I don’t see any bamboo slivers. How can you possibly torture someone without bamboo slivers?”

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

