Lord of Misrule

by Rachel Caine
Kindle Edition – Read December 10, 2012

Cost: $6.99 (As of this Post)

Length: 260 pages

Official Description: This is book #5 of the Morganville Vampire series

In the college town of Morganville, vampires and humans coexist in (relatively) bloodless harmony. Then comes Bishop, a master vampire who threatens to abolish all order, revive the forces of the evil dead, and let chaos rule. But Bishop isn’t the only threat.

Violent black clouds promise a storm of devastating proportions. As student Claire Danvers and her friends prepare to defend Morganville against the elements—both natural and unnatural—the unexpected happens: Morganville’s vampires begin to vanish one by one. Discovering why leads Claire to one last choice: swear allegiance to Bishop… or die.

My Take:

I like this book cover better than all of the other ones up to this point in the series, I still don’t know how any of them relate to the book but I still like it.

Anyhow, I don’t know what to think of this book, it took me awhile to get into and I don’t get Claire’s loyalty to Amelie, I think Amelie is a far cry from who our leads need to side with. I do understand Claire got into a contract with Amelie to save Shane, but really what is so special about Claire (besides the fact that she’s smart, there are a lot of smart people out there). I think there might be something more to Claire than what we already know, but of course that’s just speculation. I wasn’t really into the first half of the book, it was more of the same but I upped my star rating because of the last half where everything changes and the action really picks up. I do want to say I love Myrnin, I do I secretly wish that Claire would dump Shane and hook up with Myrnin…is that weird, don’t get me wrong, Shane’s ok, but I just like Myrnin’s insanely bombastic character more than any of the other male’s in this story, plus I think he truly cares for Claire, ending included. Oh that ending, it just kind of leaves you saying “WTF?” that was a killer ending, but it will be a few weeks before I pick up book 6 and know what Bishop has up his sleeve. The thing I dislike about this series, is that there are so many pages with so little actually happening, the story moves along …. but slowly, it’s entertaining  but kinda slow in pace, sorta.

Quote:

“Myrnin? Oh yeah. He did a Batman and took off into the night. What is with that guy, Claire? If he was a superhero, he’d be Bipolar Man.”

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

