Perfectly Revolting: My “Glamorous” Cartooning Career

by Kristen Baumgardner Caven
Paperback Edition – Read December 26, 2012

Cost: $13.99 (As of this Post)

Length: 154 pages

Official Description:

What’s the difference between a feminist and a libber? Why is there safe sex but no such thing as safe love? Why didn’t the ancient Greeks have psychoanalysis? And: if cats can grow whiskers, why can’t they grow beards?

These and many other Deep Questions plagued the impressionable mind of the young artist as she made her way West–to a place  where young female scholars could frolic like maenads in the twilight and pursue knowledge, dreams, and career skills alike.

Perfectly Revolting is the memoir of a young woman trying to find her place in the modern world, told through the cartoons she drew for her college newspaper and after her graduation. The narrative concludes with a reprint of Inside the Mills Revolution, her award-winning cartoon collection about the historic 1990 student strike at Mills College.

My Take:

I have had this book, which I did receive for free, since June 2011, and I am Finally reading it. I feel bad since it took me so long to pick it up. I had glanced through it from time to time but was unsure how I’d feel about. Going through a woman’s college (Texas Women’s University) I was forced to take Women’s Studies because if you didn’t you didn’t graduate. It was just part of it. I did learn alot from those classes, like I had a completely wrong idea of what feminist were and that most women studies classes are sexist. I hated that alot  of teachers at women’s colleges bashed on men with their lofty “girl power” but whatever. I was reluctant to pick up this book because I was afraid it would be more of the same. It wasn’t, it was full of humor and very entertaining, I thought that all of the narrative was really informative and gave an interesting perspective to what was going on with the author around the time leading up to her involvement in this revolution, which I had previously never heard of.  I thought she did a great job with her art and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys humor, comics with a little feminism thrown in.

 

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

