Batman: The Killing Joke

by Alan Moore, Brian Bolland
Hardcover, Deluxe Edition – Read December 29, 2012

Cost: $11.42 (As of this Post)

Length: 64 pages

Official Description:

Alan Moore cemented his reputation for unparalleled storytelling with wildly acclaimed books such as WATCHMEN and V FOR VENDETTA. Here he takes on some of DC’s most classic characters, offering his unforgettable version of the disturbing relationship between the Dark Knight and his greatest foe, the Joker.

In this groundbreaking work, Moore creates a twisted tale of insanity and human perseverance. Looking to prove that any man can be pushed past his breaking point to madness, the Joker attempts to drive Commissioner Gordon insane.

Refusing to give up, Gordon struggles to maintain his sanity with the help of Batman in a desperate effort to best the madman.

My Take:

I have been hearing about this book, FOREVER it seems. It came out originally in 1988 and I would have been in Kindergarten then and though I was an advanced reader and read obsessively, my dad would not have let me read this, in fact there were no comics in my childhood.  So though I did love Batman and all things X-Men I was not really introduced to comics until I met/married my husband, who is a casual reader, as in he would read them if someone said “Hey here read this”. Really it was my son who got me into reading the comics he likes them, he is advanced in reading, but still likes pictures so comics help give him a very slight challenge. Though it’s more challenging to find appropriate comics for a 7 year old. He did not read this one, and I digress.

I read Batgirl back in September, part of the new 52, and it came out of what happened to Barbara Gordon in this comic. I’ve read other Alan Moore stuff, ok I’ve read one thing by Alan Moore, Watchmen, but I do have interest in his other work. I found this to be an interesting look into Joker’s …. psyche maybe. He just kind of snaps a little more and wants to feel like that is what everyone would do in the face of supreme tragedy, just lose it. He shoots Barbara in front of her dad then trys to turn daddy into a nutcase. It was interesting, I’ve been told, but I’m not sure so don’t quote me, that this is a darker side to Joker, it went beyond some game. I loved the art in this too, though the after story you can tell was done more recently. I’m glad I read this, it was well done, beautifully drawn, maybe one day I’ll read more of Alan Moore’s work.

Quote:

“So when you find yourself locked onto an unpleasant train of thought, heading for the places in your past where the screaming is unbearable, remember there’s always madness. Madness is the emergency exit.”

Up Next:

 

2 thoughts on “Batman: The Killing Joke

Leave a Reply

