Karma Girl

by Jennifer Estep
Kindle Edition – Read January 2, 2013

Cost: $3.99 (As of this Post)

Length: 372 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Bigtime series

Bigtime, New York, is not big enough for both Carmen Cole and the superheroes and ubervillains who stalk its streets. An intrepid reporter, Carmen’s dedicated her life to unmasking the spandexwearers, all because her fiancé turned out to be a superhero, and a cheating one at that-sleeping with none other than his nubile nemesis.

Exposing the true identities of the nation’s caped crusaders and their archenemies has catapulted Carmen from her sleepy southern hometown to the front pages of the country’s biggest newspaper, The Exposé. Hobnobbing with millionaires and famished fashionistas is all in a day’s work for a woman on the trail of the Fearless Five and Terrible Triad. But when Carmen gets the scoop of her career, her life comes crashing down around her. And even Bigtime’s sexiest superhero, Striker, may not be able to save her.

My Take:

Ok I loved this book. Loved. It. Not because it’s not some literary masterpiece, because it is not, but it is just so fun. I like the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep and that series mentions Karma Girl, Gwen has a poster of her on her wall so I’ve been curious. I finally got to this series and I’m so glad I did. Yes it has that super cheesy factor, but the writing is engaging, the characters are fun and witty and I just love the writing style. I did not want to put this book down, which meant I did not get enough sleep last night, which is fine…totally worth it. I just kept finding myself wanting to know what was going to happen. I love the chemistry between Carmen and Striker, it was fantastic, most definitely not a young adult book though. This book was a very light read and really different from a lot of books I’ve been reading, I mean how many superhero vs. ubervillan books are out there…ok there are a few but they are usually in comic book form and way more serious in nature than this one which doesn’t take itself too seriously. Again this is just fantastic, don’t expect it to be the best piece of literature you will pick up, expect it to be a light romp with a touch of mystery, steamyish romance, superheros, villans and lots of fun times.

Quote:

“Naturally, all of the superheroes and ubervillains had colorful names like Killer and Slasher and Halitosis Hal.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

