Oddily

by Linda Pohring
Kindle Edition – Read January 11, 2013

Cost: FREE! (As of this Post)

Length: 263 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Oddily series

There are three things the shy, awkward Oddily knows for sure.

She would rather be anyone other than herself…
She wants to fit in at school…
And strange things are happening to her.

For Oddily, she tries to keep an open mind…
But what she discovers is too unbelievable to think about…
Too magical too consider, and too dangerous to ignore.

Oddily becomes trapped in a love story like no other.

My Take:

I loved this book cover, the second one, the one that is currently on the Kindle. I was looking forward to reading this, it has been in my TBR list for a while now and I finally decided to sit down and read it. It is not as long as it seems since the sentences are double spaced, which is honestly a good thing. The story/writing was so stiff and felt very detached it was really hard to enjoy it. I got exhausted reading about the awful bullying of Oddily because that seemed to take up most of the story. I get that this is a series, but I would have liked to know more about Maxim and his sister, which I assume is a discussed in book two since it’s titled Maxim. I didn’t really feel the whole love story part, it was oh hey you’re cute, so are you…swoon we’re in love now. There really wasn’t a whole lot of chemistry on the page for it do be a believable love story. I also hate that looks are so important in this story, Oddily isn’t considered pretty until she  gets a makeover then all of a sudden people want to be friends with her? That’s a great message. If you want friends go get made over and they’ll flock to you. But that’s really insignificant when it comes to the plot. Which is….I’m not sure. The love story? Maxim and his sister’s powers and history? I don’t know, it just wound up being disappointing in the end and I was happy when I did finish it. Though the ending wasn’t satisfying either. This book has a lot of great reviews, so who knows, maybe it’s just me, maybe I needed some more excitement to the story it’s only 99 cents so you could risk it if you’d like and you won’t be out too much.

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

