Ask For It

by Sylvia Day
Kindle Edition – Read January 27, 2013

Cost: $8.57  (As of this Post)

Length: 321 pages

Official Description: (This is book #1 of the Georgian series)

As an agent to the Crown, Marcus Ashford, the Earl of Westfield, has survived many a sword fight, gun fight, and even cannon fire. Yet nothing excites him more than the primitive hunger his former fiance, Elizabeth, arouses in him. It’s been years since she’d jilted him for the Lord Hawthorne, but now the elegant widow is his to defend, and he will do so while tending to her other, more carnal needs, showing her the depth of a real man’s desire…Dangerous secrets led to the murder of Lady Hawthorne’s husband, secrets she now holds in a diary many would kill to obtain. But to entrust herself to the protection of the most seductive man she’s ever known? Outrageous. Unthinkable. Irresistible. For it was Marcus’ strong passions and burning desire that frightened her into abandoning him years ago. Now he means to be at her service – in every sense. And perhaps the only sensible course isn’t to resist temptation, but to surrender to it completely…

My Take:

So, Sylvia Day has this UBER popular Crossfire series out right now, so  I thought, hey I’ll go read some of her older stuff and according to Goodreads this book came out in 2006 so I think this qualifies as an earlier book. After reading this I realized I actually have several Sylvia Day books on my Kindle, so I’ll have to check them out. Anyway on to the point…

I must say I’m not the biggest fan of historical romance…I mean I like it more now than I used to, but not the hugest fan, also not a big fan of authors who use the “C word”… I mean it’s really a demeaning word in my opinion, there are much better choices out there than that. Anyway characters…I hated Elizabeth, I really did, she is just insufferable, it is amazing that Marcus would go through all that trouble to get Elizabeth. I don’t know this book was sex with a side of mystery. It was an ok plot and the chemistry was alright, I was just not all that impressed with the whole story, but I’ve been reading that this isn’t the best of her works. So I will try some more of her books and hope they are a bit more impressive and memorable.

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

