Magic Bites

by Ilona Andrews
Audio EditionRead April 22, 2013

Original Release Date: March 27, 2007

Length: 260 pages

Official Description: (This is book #1 of the Kate Daniels series)

When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it arose, leaving all kinds of paranormal problems in its wake.

Kate Daniels is a down-on-her-luck mercenary who makes her living cleaning up these magical problems. But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, her quest for justice draws her into a power struggle between two strong factions within Atlanta’s magic circles.

The Masters of the Dead, necromancers who can control vampires, and the Pack, a paramilitary clan of shapechangers, blame each other for a series of bizarre killings—and the death of Kate’s guardian may be part of the same mystery. Pressured by both sides to find the killer, Kate realizes she’s way out of her league—but she wouldn’t have it any other way…

My Take:

I have had this book recommended to me for a few years now, rather the series everyone keeps saying, “The 1st book sucks the second books ok then the rest are awesome.” So far I agree. Ok the book didn’t all together suck. There wasn’t a lot of ‘romance’ as per usual in these types of books, but it most definitely has been set up for the next one. Ok, I get that we have to set up the whole Kate Daniels world thing, but I kind of felt lost in the beginning, like I missed something, and  I know this is the first book in the series. Then it was pretty slow, I mean snail crawling slow. The last third of the book has lots of action and craziness that the rest of the book lacked and it was pretty flipping awesome. It was just getting there that was all muddled up. I wish we knew more about Kate, I mean we find out very, very little about her and her past, so it will be interesting to see where this goes for the rest of the series. Would I recommend this series…I can’t say that yet I’ve only read book one (obviously) but I will reserve my judgement for the whole until I finish book three. Here’s hoping this series picks up.

Quote:

““I gave him my best cryptic smile. He did not fall down to his feet, kiss my shoes, and promise me the world. I must be getting rusty.””

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

