Lie to Me

by Suzanne Brahm
Kindle EditionRead April 27, 2013

Original Release Date: September 10, 2012

Length: 265 pages

Official Description:

16 year old Cassie Safire is a very good girl who does some very bad things. Dumped by her boyfriend and betrayed by her best friend, Cassie discovers her mom has a very big secret, and suddenly no amount of niceness can make Cassie’s world right again.

To escape, Cassie takes on a summer job restoring a sailboat with RD, a mysterious college guy living at the marina. Rejected and grief-stricken, Cassie finds herself drawing closer to RD. When their relationship becomes romantic, RD tells Cassie they can only be together in secret.

But on an island this small, secrets rarely stay hidden.

My Take:

What happens when everyone lies and things start to spiral out of control? That’s kind of what this story is on a big picture. I mean everyone tells lies, whether or not they are big or small, people lie. So I love this cover, it’s gorgeous, really like it, whoever did it did a fantastic job. I know that it’s credited, but I don’t remember. The writing is really good as well, which would normally have upped the rating, BUT I just didn’t like part of the subject matter. Yes I know it’s a lame reason to slightly down the rating but the description doesn’t really go into how depraved RD is and that bothers me…which is a sign of a good writer, I mean if I wasn’t disgusted by the relationship then the writer didn’t write it that well, so kudos to her. Plus this is the debut novel of Suzanne Brahm which means, in my opinion, the next book will be even better. Alright I decided to only go down half a star for subject for this reason RD is 23 years old and Cassie is 16 (almost 17) and RD has some secrets (which I won’t reveal) that make everything just so much worse. You know something is going to go down bad in the beginning, it’s alluded to.  I just find it disturbing for someone that age to seduce a young, impressionable 16-year-old girl, and where I live 17 is the legal age of consent…so it can be argued. If the guy was a freshman in college 18 or 19 I don’t think it would be AS bad, because they would have been the same age to go to high school together, it just really disgusted me the extent of RD’s relationship and then it just go farther and too far then even beyond that. Girls if you’re boyfriend wants to keep your relationship a secret that’s not a good sign. It just isn’t. Ok, rant over. It really has nothing to do with the authors talent, because she does seem mighty talent, I just have issues. 🙂 I think this book is worth picking up and I would. The ending though satisfying leaves so much left to the reader’s imagination to fill in, but in a good way.

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

