Pathfinder Volume 1: Dark Waters Rising

by Jim Zub (author), Andrew Huerta (Illustrator)
Digital EditionRead May 23, 2013

Original Release Date: May 28, 2013

Length: 160 pages

Official Description:

Valeros the warrior can rely on his sword arm and his friends – the mysterious and beautiful sorcerer Seoni, the quick-witted elven rogue Merisiel, knowledgeable and powerful wizard Ezren, the well-traveled dwarven ranger Harsk, and courageous cleric Kyra – but nothing can prepare him for the dangers that lurk ahead. The scattered and chaotic goblin tribes of Varisia are changing, growing in power, and unifying in ways no one has ever seen before. At the heart of this strange evolution is an ancient evil force looking to establish itself anew in the world of Golarion. Paizo’s incredible award-winning fantasy world, fiction line, and tabletop RPG is now the ultimate fantasy comic from Dynamite Entertainment. With an action-packed story written by Jim Zub (Street Fighter Legends, Skullkickers) and incredibly detailed artwork by newcomer Andrew Huerta, this first volume introduces readers to a richly envisioned fantasy world filled with compelling characters and impressive sights. This beautiful, oversized hardcover collects the first six issues of the comic series and includes more than 30 pages of encounters, characters, and world detail for the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, including a brand-new poster map of the region explored in the Pathfinder comic!

My Take:

First off I did get this digital version of this book for free, for review that being said…

I could not remember for the life of me where I had heard of Pathfinder. It all looked so familiar. Of course it’s an RPG which has a massive following. I can’t comment on the game itself, as I’ve never played it, I’ve really never been big into RPGs…so anyway back to the comic. I liked the comic it was really well drawn, the characters looked familiar (just because I don’t play doesn’t mean my friends don’t) and the story is broad and entertaining. There are many different aspects of the story from action, adventure, romance, comedy, it covers the spectrum. Do I think this goblin hunting epic fantasy adventure is for everyone…not really but I do think those of you who love the game will really enjoy the story. The one complaint I have, as inconsequential as it is, is that in the collection they would refer to something that happened in a previous chapter and said (“This happened in the last comic”) but it’s a collection of comics, I get that it would be difficult to remove such caption, but then I felt like I missed something. Also, I think if I actually followed the pathfinder world, that the plots and quirks would mean more to me, as it was I liked this on a surface, don’t know much about it level.

 

 

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

