In Bed With a Highlander

by Maya Banks
Kindle EditionRead May 27, 2013

Original Release Date: August 30, 2011

Length: 351 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the McCabe Trilogy

Ewan McCabe, the eldest, is a warrior determined to vanquish his enemy. Now, with the time ripe for battle, his men are ready and Ewan is poised to take back what is his—until a blue-eyed, raven-haired temptress is thrust upon him. Mairin may be the salvation of Ewan’s clan, but for a man who dreams only of revenge, matters of the heart are strange territory to conquer.

The illegitimate daughter of the king, Mairin possesses prized property that has made her a pawn—and wary of love. Her worst fears are realized when she is rescued from peril only to be forced into marriage by her charismatic and commanding savior, Ewan McCabe. But her attraction to her ruggedly powerful new husband makes her crave his surprisingly tender touch; her body comes alive under his sensual mastery. And as war draws near, Mairin’s strength, spirit, and passion challenge Ewan to conquer his demons—and embrace a love that means more than revenge and land.

My Take:

So this book is only the second ever highlander book I’ve read, the first being Beyond the Highland Mist” it has become evident to me that I like these historical romances. They are definitely guilty pleasures. So, I had never heard of this book before, until a few months back a certain book club picked it as an alt read, and since I’ve been in nursing school forever now, I didn’t have the time to pick it up. I finally did, and goodness, I’m ready to pick up the next one, which I’m guessing is about one of the other McCabe brothers, assuming Alaric but I haven’t looked it up. So this book is very much a steamy romance involving Scottish Highlanders, and they speak briefly about the lowlanders in a very disgusted manner. I love the way Mairin is, she’s so naive, yet she is very stubborn and not really a damsel in distress type though she does find herself in distress, and there was no instalove which is always fantastic. I was worried that in reading this we’d see some abusive alpha type male gaining the stolkholm like love of the leading lady, and greatfully that isn’t the case. Of course I also understand that back in the day that marriage was rarely entered upon in love, it was about what the families can do for one another, a lot of people don’t really have that sense when reading these “historical” type books so they find some disgust in the way things are done. Overall I flew through this story, I couldn’t get enough of Ewan and Mairin and Crispin and the whole of the McCabe clan. I liked the mystery, though I totally knew how this book was going to end, I still loved the twists and turns that came along the way. I would recommend this if you love some guilty historical romance, even if you haven’t tried it out before this one is mighty entertaining.

 

Quote:

“Tis a well-known fact that a man is either skilled in matters of loving or matters of war. ’Tis obvious that fighting is your skill.”

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

