The Island

by Jen Minkman
Kindle EditionRead June 21, 2013

Original Release Date: May 29, 2013

Length: 138 pages

Official Description

‘I walk toward the sea. The endless surface of the water extends to the horizon, whichever way I look.

Our world is small. We are on our own, and we only have ourselves to depend on. We rely on the Force deep within us, as taught to us by our forefathers.

If I were to walk westward from here, I would come across a barrier – the Wall.
Behind it, there are Fools. At least, that’s what everyone says.
I have never seen one.’

Leia lives on the Island, a world in which children leave their parents to take care of themselves when they are ten years old. Across this Island runs a wall that no one has ever crossed. The Fools living behind it are not amenable to reason – they believe in illusions. That’s what The Book says, the only thing left to the Eastern Islanders by their ancestors.
But when a strange man washes ashore and Leia meets a Fool face to face, her life will never be the same. Is what she and her friends believe about the Island really true?

Or is everyone in their world, in fact, a Fool?

My Take:

Ok…oh how do I describe this book/novella. No where do I start. Let’s go with the good, I love dystopian novels, I love the imagined world that authors create that envision how the world as we know it would end and how the people left would carry on. This book takes a twist on the level of kids being separated at a young age from their parents to make it on their own. The writing is wonderful and I love how it all ends, but I can’t really talk about any of that without spoilers. The characters are interesting, but there is too much going on to have this as a novella, there is too much background to limit these characters. I think that if this were full length that I could invest more into the story, into the world but there was too much to really do that. I wish I would have realized that this was a Star Wars related story (totally should have realized that when mentioning “The Force”) but when you get to the point where the characters describe their religion, I said “You have got to be kidding me”. Mostly because in all the hubbub of chaos on the island we add in this really weird aspect which makes the story kind of hard to get into.  I know that’s harsh, but even though the writing was done really well, the story itself just was kind of . . . hard to take seriously. Would I read other stuff by this author? Probably, I would hope that other writings would fit together better than “The Island”.

(I did receive this book free for an honest review)

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

