The Companions

by R.A. Salvatore
Kindle EditionRead July 24, 2013

Original Release Date: August 6, 2013

Length: 384 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 in The Sundering series.

This latest installment in New York Times best-selling author R.A. Salvatore’s beloved fantasy saga, The Companions moves Salvatore’s signature hero Drizzt into a new era of the Forgotten Realms. As Drizzt’s fate hangs in the balance, he reflects on the lives of the trusted allies who stood by his side throughout his early life–the friends now known as the Companions of the Hall. Meanwhile, the first stirrings of the Sundering begin.

My Take:

I must say I probably should have read the 20 some odd books that came before this series to get the total impact of “The Companions.” Honestly after reading this book I will have to go back and read the previous series, because I love R.A. Salvatore’s writing and though I’d read some of his Star Wars books it has been so very, very long since this has occurred.

I know very little about D&D I have friends that play, I’ve watched them play, but I never got into it. What can I say then about this book, I wanted it because of the author, never heard of the previous books which I think, begins with “Homeland” but I may be completely wrong.

This book follows Drizzt’s companions (and we do get some back story thrown in) Catti-brie, Regis, Bruenor, and kinda for a moment, Wulfgar as they are given the option to be reborn to save Drizzt. We follow the companions as they are literally born into the world again and are grown ups in baby bodies then child and so on. We see them with new struggles and inner battles to face as they have to re-discover who they are in their new bodies. I loved this book. Really I did, even though I had no idea the full back story and didn’t have the emotional attachment for the characters, I thought Salvatore still did an amazing job in writing a compelling world with equally compelling characters. Salvatore has the reputation of being one of the top fantasy writers of his time and if you read any of his work it is evident why. He spins beautiful tales that you can’t help being mesmerized with. It is a good read for someone with no background in the story and I’m sure even better if you’ve read the rest. That being said, I have now bought the first book (I decided mid-post to do this) and may come back to this one day once I’ve read everything else.

So can you read this with no background, of course, but it is confusing and it may take a while to truly get into the story.

* I did receive this book for free for an honest review!


Up Next:

Leave a Reply

