Misled

by Sylvia Day
Kindle EditionRead July 20, 2013

Original Release Date: October 1, 2005

Length: 117 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 in the Carnal Thirst series.

Special Task Force agent Derek Atkinson has a craving for luscious vamp Sable Taylor. But Sable’s a bounty hunter, which makes him direct competition in the capture of wanted criminals. Despite the obvious attraction between them, she won’t give him a chance and after two years, he’s tired of waiting for her to come around.

So he’s got a plan to give them both what they want… each other.

Sable’s on a dangerous mission. She’s not who Derek thinks she is, so anything personal just isn’t possible. But like most master vampires, Derek’s wily and used to having his way. When he traps her on his ship, she decides to indulge. Two straight days of mind-blowing sex should be enough, but it isn’t, not for either of them. Her heart is involved now, but Sable can’t let Derek get too close. If he finds out what she’s doing, he’ll never forgive her.

Derek, however, refuses to let go.

Now he’s getting shot at and asking questions she shouldn’t answer. Sable has to reveal the truth… Derek’s love has been misled…

My Take:

Ok, I said before that I’d retry Sylvia Day, and I did, I’m not going to give up though because she is so popular I’m going to keep reading and find out why one of these days. I may even try out the Crossfire series one of these days. Misled is a short story/novella it’s a quick read with very little plot, very little character development and very little world building. However there is lots of sex and if that’s your thing then you may like this one. I still don’t like certain words being used, it feels like you’re reading along and are slapped in the face, I mean seriously do we have such a small vocabulary that we have to use derogatory words. Yeah they are descriptive but ug, it takes any possibility of a ‘sexy moment’ and crushes it. If you don’t know what I’m talking about I’ve said it before (click the picture below of “Ask For It”) and I think it’s just as horrible now as I did in February. So, anyhow other than that this book just was a disappointment for me, I had no real desire to want to read on because it was just so incredibly silly to me. We have our futuristic vampires who aren’t really impressive vampires because all they think about is sex and trying to figure super obvious clues as to why they act the way they do.

Anyway, you might like this, who knows, it has great reviews (and horrible ones) and it’s short so you don’t have to believe me you can give it a shot yourself, but I warned you.

Other Books by Sylvia Day


Up Next:

Leave a Reply

