City of Ashes

by Cassandra Clare
Paperback EditionRead  August 24, 2013

Original Release Date: March 25, 2008

Length: 496 pages

Official Description: (This is book 2 of the Mortal Instruments series)

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? Clary would love to spend more time with her best friend, Simon. But the Shadowhunters won’t let her go–especially her handsome, infuriating newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil–and also her father. When the second of the Mortal Instruments os stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor suspects Jace. Could Jace really be willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

My Take:

I read this book on my recent vacation while stuck in the Miami Airport waiting for my plane while also listening to my child read his books and my husband complaining that our plane was taking forever. Hey, we were there for six hours after all. This is a lead up which may have affected my ability to get into this book, but I don’t really think that was entirely the problem. I have just have a huge problem with the romantic interest between Jace & Clary, because that is just gross, I mean, really, really gross. I have a very strong suspicion that it will be revealed in the future that they aren’t really related, at least I hope that they aren’t because incest is just not fun. Other than the fact that Jace and Clary are still pining after one another, the beginning of the book starts off really pretty good and intense. There is this feel that there is going to be some major action forthcoming, then everything kind of fizzles out for a while. The Second Act (the middle of the book) was not all that captivating, we have a bunch of teenagers running around being angsty and trying to figure stuff out. Then we have the romance between Simon and Clary and Jace and Clary, we never really hear much about Clary’s mom, though that’s in the background, and nothing seems too dire. The last part of the book was really good though, couldn’t put it down. I loved it when we finally get to see Clary starting to become the shadowhunter she was born to be, don’t get me wrong it’s not much, but it’s pretty cool. I loved the action scenes they were really well written.

My favorite character in all of this book has to be Magnus Bane, he just was written so much better than even the main characters. He has tons of charisma, depth, and mystery and you just want to know him. I love where they went with him this go around as well. Overall the book was merely ok. I didn’t have that spark that kept me interested the whole time, plus there was the ick factor of brother/sister love, then we had the fun parts which made the book go from mind numbing to ok. I know this series has a huge following, and I am going to keep with it just because it seems like it could get better, plus I love the covers.

Quote:

“I’ll just have them change the entry in the demonology textbook from ‘almost extinct’ to ‘not extinct enough for Alec. He prefers his monsters really, really extinct.’ Will that make you happy?”

Previous Books in this series:

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

