Never Love a Highlander

by Maya Banks
Audio EditionRead September 7, 2013

Original Release Date: January 1, 2011

Length: 305 pages

Official Description: This is book #3 of the McCabe Trilogy

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Never Love a Highlander, the youngest McCabe brother uses sword and seduction to save his clan—and seal his heart.

Caelen McCabe’s young, reckless heart nearly destroyed his clan. Now, putting family loyalty above all else, he steps up to marry his older brother’s jilted bride and salvage the uneasy alliance between two clans. While beautiful Rionna McDonald is a fit wife for any man, Caelen trusts no woman, especially not this sweet temptress who torments him with white-hot longing.

As the sacrificial lamb in her father’s power game, Rionna will do her duty but vows to protect her heart and her pride from humiliation. Despite everything, though, the heat in Caelen’s touch melts her defenses, and she craves the sensual delights of a husband who guards his emotions as fiercely as his clan. But when the ultimate battle for the McCabe legacy is upon them, Rionna’s true warrior spirit emerges. She will risk the wrath of her father, the fury of her enemies, and her life to prove to Caelen that his wife’s love is too precious to lose.

My Take:

This is it, the final book in the McCabe trilogy! I was happy to read this one, because I had enjoyed the other two. Instead of reading this I actually got the audio book because I had to go on a road trip all by my self so might as well get some ‘reading’ in if I was going to be in the car for hours! So I wasn’t loving this one as much as the others at first, because it seemed to be a little too much alpha male going on and super cheesy sex scenes. I mean it’s weird reading about wombs having feelings. Did the other books have that? Maybe I over looked it because I was reading them, or maybe we’ve gotten too clichéd being the third in the series of books about brothers. So once we get to the meat of the story and get past all the sexy times, I really started to enjoy the book, I liked Caelen, but not as much as his other brothers, but I liked Rionna better than the other girls. Why do I like Rionna? Well, she’s a warrior, she’s been rejected by two of the McCabe’s and she’s determined to make the best of the situation, she even try’s to become all proper and lady like. I like that she’s a warrior women, that she’s tough as nails but still soft. I love the relationship that blooms between Caelen and Rionna, and I think the ending had the most meaningful moment in the whole trilogy.

Now that this whole series is all said and done, I’m going to read Ms. Banks other Highlander series, because she writes highlanders really, really well. I don’t know if I’ll do the audio version, though the narrator did do a good job, but I think it kind of becomes awkward at times.

Quote:

“Love required sacrifice. It required trust and faith. It required making yourself completely vulnerable to the one you loved.”

Previous Books in this Series:

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

