Falling Into You

by Jasinda Wilder
Kindle EditionRead October 7, 2013

Original Release Date: March 14, 2013

Length: 369 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Falling series

I wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way. Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.

Colton didn’t teach me how to live. He didn’t heal the pain. He didn’t make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

Nell Hawthorne is in love with her life-long best friend, Kyle Calloway. Things are great, and they’re in love, young, full of promise. Then Kyle dies in a tragic accident and Nell is forever changed. She meets Kyle’s older brother Colton at the funeral, and there’s a spark, but it’s wrong and they both know it. The moment passes, and they both move on with life. A couple years later, they meet again in New York City, and Colton realizes that Nell has never really gotten over Kyle’s death, and seems to be harboring a deeply rooted pain, something like guilt, perhaps. He knows he shouldn’t get involved, but he can’t help himself. Trust doesn’t come easily for either of them, and they both have demons, Colton especially. Together, they learn the purpose of pain and the meaning of healing, and the importance of forgiveness.

This New Adult romance novel contains graphic scenes and is intended for mature audiences. HEA ending.

My Take:

Back in my nursing school days ( 🙂 it feels like ages ago) I was riding to clinical with a fellow book lover. We talked about books for the hour-long drive to our clinical site. This book was brought up, of course I got on my phone, popped open my Goodreads app and found the book. Then added it to my list of books to read. One day it happened to pop up on the digital library site, and I added it to my list, then it came to my Kindle. I was reluctant at first because as much as I respected the girl who recommended it to me, she also loved 50 Shades….which I did not.

Honestly I didn’t read the whole description, knew nothing about this book because I like to go in raw. (Wait raw? Does that make sense?) I didn’t like it at first, it started off telling you that she’s going to love someone else, and I didn’t really like the “omigod” phrases that was said through the entire story. However once we started building up these characters and getting to know them, I fell in love with the story. I cried during the first act, I teared up at the end, I swooned, I was all emotional. This isn’t a perfect book, there are so many typos that make me cringe (hey I’m not published ignore my typos), but the characters were so real, so raw (there I go again with that word). I love how broken Nell was, loved how real her pain feels. I love the music mentioned and that whole aspect of the story. I liked how deep this story was, yet it still stayed kind of on the surface. This book kind of takes a look at the side of grieving people don’t want to talk about, and that’s the refusal to grieve and it comes out an unhealthy mess. It just felt so real. I would go out and buy this in print to reread, I liked it that much. In spite of the imperfections and levels of immaturity, I really did enjoy this book, and it read really quickly.

Quote:

“This book is for anyone who has ever lost a loved one, for anyone who has woken up crying and gone to bed the same way, for anyone who has had to learn that it’s okay to not be okay. Surviving isn’t strength, it’s continuing to breathe one day at a time; strength is learning to live despite the pain.”

Up Next:

2 thoughts on “Falling Into You

Leave a Reply

