Beautiful Creatures

by Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl
Audio/Kindle EditionRead October 13, 2013

Original Release Date: December 1, 2009

Length: 563 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Caster Chronicles

There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.
At least, that’s what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

My Take:

This book a has been around for a few years and I have been meaning to get to it, but I just never have. Then the movie came out and it kind of turned me off of the movie because the trailer was just unimpressive. Then I got over it and I decided to get the audio book to supplement my Kindle reading. I am glad idea. The narrator, Kevin T. Collins, does a fantastic job, I mean really, really great. He really brings so much to the story to pull you in. There are also all kinds of effects to pull you into the moment, so you feel like you’re in the rain storm and you hear different things. There was a decent production cost for this it seems, plus the song that Ethan and Lena hear all the time actually has a tune and they brought someone in to sing and play for that part, which makes it seem much more eerie and beautiful. They also do this with Link’s band and it makes the story pop that much more. Yes I also read part of this on my Kindle as well, but honestly the audio version just hooked me in. I plan on getting the next book that way as well.

I love the story, it’s a teen southern Gothic romance, with a lot of supernatural thrown in. It also brings that small town life into play which as someone who moved around a lot, I could relate some to Lena, though kids were never that mean and I wasn’t a Caster…so I just understand that kids (and parents in this case) in small towns, don’t really like new folks. I loved all the lore in this, I loved Amma and her charms and Macon and his quirkiness. I was trying to figure out his deal the whole story and him and Boo are my favorite side characters. I like the writing style, and the character development. I think it brings a little twist to the whole magic world, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. I DID put the movie in my Netflix queue just to see how it was though, I should be getting it soon.

So if you want a lightish fun read and enjoy young adult paranormal type books, you should check this out. If you want to skip it because there is so much hype around it that your expectations are super high then I would. I mean it’s not the best book ever, it’s fun and it draws you in, and I recommend the audio book, because it’s awesome and done really well. I know the characters can be a bit daft and shallow, they are teens, and I may not have liked it as much if I hadn’t had the audio version, but trust me it’s worth it. Though his southern accent does kind of come and go, but then again so does mine, but I would imagine someone who lived in one place forever would have a steady accent that’s the only (oh so minor) complaint I’d have.

Quote:

“I never loved you any more than I do, right this second. And I’ll never love you any less than I do, right this second.”

 

Leave a Reply

