Evermore

by Alyson Noël
Audio EditionRead April 28, 2014

Original Release Date: February 3, 2009

Length: 320 pages

Official Description: (This is book 1 of The Immortals series)

The first book in Alyson Noël’s extraordinary new Immortals series. Enter an enchanting new world, where true love never dies…

After a horrible accident claims the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever Bloom can see people’s auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone’s entire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact to suppress her abilities, she has been branded a freak at her new high school — but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste.

Damen is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy. He’s the only one who can silence the noise and random energy in her head – wielding a magic so intense, it’s as though he can peer straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she’s left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea just who he really is – or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she’s falling deeply and helplessly in love with him.

My Take:

This book has been on my reading list….for a long time. I don’t know when exactly, but I loved the cover and I had to read it. Eventually, I have such of long lists of books on my To Read list that, some books just get lost in the fray. Ever is the main character of this book, which teases vampires, but doesn’t give that to you. It is somewhat similar to Lauren Kate’s Fallen but not as dark, in the beginning, and there are no angels. Ever is a 16-year-old young lady who has lived through a trauma of losing her whole immediate family in one fell swoop, changing her life forever.

Then we have Damen, who I just don’t know if I like, he is supposed to be this swoon worthy awesome and wonderful guy, but maybe it’s me being over 30 and not liking the same things as teenage girls, but sheesh. He is a manipulator in a big way, I don’t think I would ever be able to get past the ‘tests’ and emotional games that he plays. He is so obviously manipulating Ever that she just spirals out of control.

Other than the cliché’s and the repetitiveness, I really enjoyed this book, I listened to this one on my commute, and just stayed in the car until each disc was done. It’s a short book, it flies by and my son even enjoyed the parts that he listened in to. Well, except the bloody parts. I enjoyed the dynamic of Riley and Ever, that was just a really interesting thing to do with those two. Ever has such a journey to go through, and so many things to learn and accept about herself and the world around her, she has her blinders up in both a literal and figurative sense and she has to finish growing. She is living in a world of survivors guilt, mixed with all the crap that Damen brings to the table.

I don’t know, it’s not the greatest written work in existence, but it’s entertaining and a light read. There is a deeper meaning to everything.

Favorite Quote:

“Today’s worries are yesterday’s fears and tomorrow’s stories.” 

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

