Green Lantern Volume 1: Sinestro

by Geoff Johns, Doug Mahnke
Hardcover EditionRead April 29, 2014

Original Release DateMay 16 2012

Length: 160 pages

Official Description:

As part of the DC Comics—The New 52, the first six issues of the star-spanning series from superstar writer Geoff Johns and artist Doug Mahnke is collected here in hardcover!

In the aftermath of a deadly showdown between the Green Lantern Corps and a mysterious foe from the past, Hal Jordan has been stripped of his ring. Left standing is an unexpected new Green Lantern in town: Sinestro! And now, this renegade GL has set a course for Korugar with one purpose: To free his homeworld from the scourge of his own Sinestro Corps, with the not-so-willing help of Hal Jordan!

The volume collects issues 1-6 of Green Lantern, part of the DC Comics—The New 52 event.

My Take:

First of all if you are coming here thinking that I have any kind of clue about comics, you will be sadly disappointed. I am a novice and the majority of my comic reading comes in the form of screening things for my son to read. This particular comic is one that he picked out because he likes the Green Lantern movie and some TV show.

I have read only 1 other of the New 52 comics and that was Batgirl, Volume 1. That will change in the up coming weeks, as I have procured a stack of comics. Any how, my limited understanding of the whole New 52 thing was, that it is to be a reboot, they were starting over with 52 of their series’. I was totally lost reading this one. Hal was stripped of his ring, there was a Starfire comment, there is a dynamic between Hal and Sinestro which is just lost on the new reader. This didn’t feel like the start of a series, it felt like the continuation of an older one.

However, it was easy to follow and understand what was going on, the tried to explain some of the ‘world’ and ‘history’ that is the green lantern world. The art was awesome and everything flowed….well, until you got to issue #6, this is, of course, the collection of the first six comics, and I felt lost again. Here I was finally kind of understanding what was going on, then we change and I feel like we flashed way forward and I missed something. That was frustrating, but hey everything turned out alright. My kiddo loved it, that’s all that mattered. The biggest gripe I have is just the total and utter lost feeling I had as a newb reading this book.

The writing was well done, and I think the art was gorgeous, I loved the covers, overall well done, but obviously done for the old fans.

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

