Batgirl, Vol. 2: Knightfall Descends

by Gail Simone, Ardian Syaf,  Vicente Cifuentes, Ed Benes
Paperback EditionRead May 10, 2014

Original Release Date: February 12, 2013

Length: 192 pages

Official Description:

BATGIRL IS BACK

Batgirl Barbara Gordon faces foe after foe now that she’s back in the role of Batgirl. A deadly new gentleman killer, Grotesque, stalks the streets of Gotham City; The Court of Owls sets its sight on her father Commissoner Gordon; and an innocent woman sentenced to Arkham emerges more dangerous than the innmates she was locked up with!

A new chapter in the riveting adventures of Batgirl continue in stunning fashion, with script by fan-favorite Gail Simone and stellar art by superstar Ardian Syaf!

My Take:

It has been nearly 2 years since I picked up Volume One of Batgirl, which included issues 1-6, I was surprised how much of everything that stuck with me. I suppose it helps that I read The Killing Joke which is where everything changed for Barbara. I wish I had read Simone’s Birds of Prey series, because we do get a brief glimpse of the Black Canary. I only have a vague knowledge of the Birds of Prey, but I think the little homage is nice, plus it serves as a plot device to move the story forward. I love the struggles of Gordon, the faults and doubts that she finds in herself. I really think that Simone writes her characters as believable, they have a vulnerability and strength that not everyone can bring to their characters. It’s easy to one or the other, but for some reason it seems to be difficult to do. Also the art is great, and I like the continuity from issue to issue. Except the last one, #12, it seems odd, almost like it doesn’t belong, but it is still pretty good. I also had no idea of Barbara’s lineage, except of course her father, I had no idea what was going on with the little brother, or the mother, learning about it was pretty awesome. I like Batgirl, I enjoy Simone’s writing and wit, and I really enjoyed the art put on to the pages. Very well done.

Other Books by Gail Simone:

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

