Moon Called


by Patricia Briggs (Author), Lorelei King (Reader)
Audio EditionRead May 14, 2014

Original Release Date: January 31, 2006

Length: 317 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Mercy Thompson series

Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy’s next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy’s connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water..

My Take:

This is one of those series that I have been reluctant to try, I actually bought this a while back on the Kindle when it went on sale. However, I just never have gotten to it, I mean I have a literal list of books that I’m working through. Finally I decided I needed a new book for my commute, so I stumbled upon this one, forgetting I owned it already. Well, I’m glad I got around to it. First things first, that cover is deceiving, it gives an all together different impression of the book that it actually is. I don’t think Mercy would where that get up, it’s impractical, and Mercy is a practical person.

What I loved about this book was mostly Mercy, she is awesome, she has knowledge of who she is, she is stubborn, but not stupid. She can take care of the big bad alpha werewolves in her life, who try desperately to dominate her. She is stronger than she realizes, I’m guessing on this one, because she has not been around anyone else of her kind, so she really doesn’t know what she is capable of, but she’s content with where she is. I love the writing, it’s clean, there are no naughty bits, there isn’t even a love story, not really, it’s just the adventure. The language is pretty clean and you realize, after reading this, that you can have a great story without having sordid love scenes or foul language around every corner. You can have a strong female character who doesn’t need to be stronger and is happy in her own skin, someone who cares, but isn’t damaged, all that much. I love it, I’m happy and the narrator of the audio version did a pretty great job.

 

Quote:

Just remember, I’ve been known to believe as many as six impossible things before breakfast.

Up Next:

 

Leave a Reply

