Celestra Forever After


by Addison Moore
Kindle EditionRead May 18, 2014

Original Release Date: March 29, 2014

Length: 510 pages

Official Description:

18 year-old Skyla Messenger has it all. She’s the overseer of all 5 angelic factions, a freshman at Host University, and she has the boy of her dreams by her side. 

When a horrible truth is discovered, it changes the landscape of everything she thought she knew. Skyla enters into a covenant with wickedness that has the potential to alter the destiny of both the Nephilim and humankind forever. 

Nothing is as it seems. 

Just when she thought it was over, 
she discovers 
it hasn’t even begun. 

My Take:

I have enjoyed reading Addison Moore’s work (just see all the books below), but I think the magic is dying down. Granted this book has garnered tons and tons of 5 star reviews from die hard fans. So, I expected so much more.

First let’s say the Amazon page and Goodreads page states you don’t have to read the Celestra series to enjoy this…I call BS. You would be confused as all get up if you never read the Celestra series, also you should read the Countenance trilogy as well. I’ve only read the first one, but this book seems to be a continuation of both series.

Each chapter of has 3 parts each part being a different POV. It always goes in the same order: Skyla, Gage, Logan. It gives a nice change of perspective because I think Skyla gets more vapid as time goes on, extremely clueless, always jumping to the exact wrong conclusion. This entire book is just like the Celestra series, except foul language and more explicit sex scenes. This book was pretty much an excuse to continue on the series, but call it new and but a New Adult tag on it. Honestly I was hoping this book would be about how Gage gets the girl and they live happily ever after. It is … kind of, of course we have to find ways to vilify all of Skyla’s love interests. Really Paragon seems like a huge island of STDs, geesh all the sleeping around of the minor characters is gross and not endearing.

The characters we see are of course Skyla, Gage, Logan (though very limited), Marshall (also very limited), Demetri, Wes, Laken, Cooper and well…everyone else from both series. These are just the characters in the forefront. We see Skyla take on her position as Overseer. We also see Gage and Skyla head off to college, which is kind of in the back ground of this series. Everyone is at Host, well, not everyone, people don’t really all that ambitious. Emma, hates Skyla, I mean HATES her, but Gage swears she doesn’t. There are secrets all around in this book, per usual and Chloe rears her ugly head to lure Skyla into a trap.

So, what do I really think of the book? It’s ok, it was hard to get through though, I mean I kept having to put it down. Which I hate doing, I hate taking forever to read a book, especially a series that I’ve invested so much in. I had to sit down today and say to myself, “You will finish, you will get through it!” and 80% of the way through I finally got into it.

Now you might be just like all the fans out there and think this is the best thing ever, but really this series is grasping at straws, jumping the shark, breathing thin air. Love the writer, but it’s not what it once was.

Favorite Quote:

Our love set the world on fire. Unapologetically we watch it burn. This is the genesis of who we are. This is the twisted beginning.

Up Next:

Other Books by Addison Moore:




One thought on “Celestra Forever After

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I read the beginning series as well and my Elysian I could barely stand the series anymore. The only character I really liked by this point was Gage, Ellis and Emerson/Giselle. I couldn’t stand Skyla’s hop around and I was hoping with this book to see the Gage and Skyla combo flourish, I mean he deserves some love finally. I liked Laken/Wesley/Cooper combo much more and I’m excited to see what happens there. I haven’t finished this book yet but I’m glad someone else isn’t just totally in love and notices all the plot and story line is lacking.

Leave a Reply

