Bared to You

by Sylvia Day
Kindle EditionRead July 8, 2014

Original Release Date: April 3, 2012

Length: 338 pages

Official Description:This is book #1 in the Crossfire series.

Our journey began in fire…

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness—beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds… and desires.

My Take:

I went in to this book with such low expectations, especially after the disappointing 50 (yeah I know you know how I loathe it) and Breathless books (yes I’ve only read one so far). Plus unlike Rush I was not the biggest fan of Ms Day, don’t get me wrong she’s alright but it wasn’t anything I was dying to rush out and buy. Of course the same people who loved the other two series which are just oh so terrible loved this one. I’ve heard so many “Oh she just copied EL James” comments. Well yeah maybe she was inspired by the crap and decided to write something worth reading. So we have to characters who so very obviously come from abusive backgrounds trying to heal one another. That seems to be the underlying gist, this is why these two seem to be drawn to each other. They are just oh so broken. Plus in this book Eva isn’t some helpless punk, she is a ‘socialite’ her step dad and mom have money, she is not scared of the world, just scared of the media. She’s experienced, but naive, as is Gideon. No woman wants to be treated like most men in books treat women, at least men in these type of books, but for some reason women, and men, flock to these broken alpha types. Ladies and gents going up to some stranger and saying I want to F you is more than likely going to get you slapped across the face, if you’re lucky, unless perhaps that person is super drunk, then hey you’re honest. Stalking someone is not healthy, obsession is not healthy, but it is entertaining. The self-esteem of our characters is low, but they aren’t so bad as other books. Really it was entertaining.

I loved that Eva is pretty much the one in charge of the relationship, she’s calling the shots, mostly, she’s taking the initiative, she is not some weak woman who is being dominated by a strong alpha male. At least not in this book. I was entertained, Ms Day has a larger vocabulary than Ms James, because reading several *inner goddess* type comments might have made me throw my Kindle across the room. I know this series is going to get darker, maybe sinister even in some ways, thanks guys for the spoilers. However, I’m hoping that this book doesn’t go he way of Fifty and just get worse as the series continues. I actually look forward to the next few books. Plus I do like the cover, even if it is a blatant rip off.

Other Books by Sylvia Day

Quote:

“I must’ve wished for you so hard and so often you had no choice but to come true.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

