Oliver and the Seawigs

by Phillip Reeve; Sarah McIntyre (Illustrator)
Digital EditionRead August 10, 2014

Original Release Date: September 5, 2013

Length: 195 pages

Official Description:

Oliver grew up in a family of explorers – but his biggest adventure is about to begin!

Along with his new friends, a grumpy old albatross, a short-sighted mermaid and a friendly island called Cliff, Oliver goes off in search of his missing parents. But before he can put his rescue plan into action there’s the evil Stacey de Lacey and an army of greasy, green sea monkeys to contend with . .

My Take:

This book (according to Amazon) is for ages 7-10 or grades 2-5. You can watch the trailer HERE. My son is 9, going into the 4th grade so he fits the demographic. I can’t say the writing is bad, I can’t say the illustrations are bad. However, this book just didn’t hold his interest. He reads middle grade books all of the time, and is leaning toward young adult at this point, (ie. Percy Jackson series, Kane Chronicles etc.) so this one just didn’t capture him. He does like comics, but the pictures didn’t hold his attention either. The adventure wasn’t enough, it didn’t thrill him. When I look at reading children’s books, I love my child to read them, because this is who the market is after. Maybe he’s strange, maybe this book should be slated for  younger demographic because I’ve heard 5 and 6 year olds love it. This I wouldn’t put as a middle grade reader, nor an early reader, it’s somewhere in between. I’m not downing the book, it is written well, the story is unique with wandering islands, bully boys, bully islands, adventure, mermaids, and an albatross. It’s an interesting book, it’s just not one to capture the attention of my 9-year-old boy.

*I did receive this book for free for an honest review.

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

