Obsidian

by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Kindle EditionRead August 14, 2014

Original Release Date: May 8, 2012

Length: 294 pages

Official Description: (This is book #1 of the Lux series)

Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Take:

This book has been on my list since it came out. The final book in the series was recently released and they did a promotion on Amazon where this one was free. Woot! Love free things. So I picked it up, obviously. This book is so incredibly young adult, but it does get hot and heavy and some points. Daemon and Katy have a mutual physical attraction, but they genuinely seem to loathe one another for a while. Then it seems like Daemon just pisses Katy off for the heck of it, then they have a love/hate relationship. It’s interesting. I loved the whole Alien thing, it was incredibly fun.  The chemistry between all the characters was fantastic, and the insta love wasn’t there, which is always a good thing. I can’t say that the book wasn’t a bit juvenile, because it was, just a bit. However, I couldn’t put it down. I’m a sucker for paranormal stuff, and I love the writing, it flowed, there was humor and there is just so much potential. Plus I think there is so much more to Katy than we know. I can’t wait to read the second book!

Other Books by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My favorite Quotes:

“What? Did he slip and fall on your mouth? Those things are known to happen.”

“I’d brake-checked him several times. He’d blown his horn. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

