Fantasy Lover

by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Kindle EditionRead September 26, 2014

Original Release Date: February 2, 2002

Length: 353 pages

Official Description: This is book #1 of the Dark-HunterVerse

Dear Reader,

Being trapped in a bedroom with a woman is a grand thing. Being trapped in hundreds of bedrooms over two thousand years isn’t. And being cursed into a book as a love-slave for eternity can ruin even a Spartan warrior’s day.

As a love-slave, I know everything about women. How to touch them, how to savor them, and most of all, how to pleasure them. But when I was summoned to fulfill Grace Alexander’s sexual fantasies, I found the first woman in history who saw me as a man with a tormented past. She alone bothered to take me out of the bedroom and onto the world. She taught me to love again.

But I was not born to love. I was cursed to walk eternity alone. As a general, I had long ago accepted my sentence. Yet now I have found Grace–the one thing my wounded heart cannot survive without. Sure, love can heal all wounds, but can it break a two-thousand-year-old curse?

Julian of Macedon

My Take:

This is the  second book I’ve read by Kenyon. The first being way down in the series and this is supposed to be “the beginning” or the first book in the whole verse. I don’t really see how this fits in the Hunter world, mainly because there really isn’t any mention of them. There is, however, a mention of lots of gods and goddesses. I love mythology, even if it is random and not really accurate. It’s fun, I like how they bring up the maternal parentage of Aphrodite. The patriarchal society that was ancient Greece and how men gods did whatever but women were treated crappy and not treated as goddesses, but regular folk. So there is this guy who is the son of a goddess and a mortal. He does a bunch of stupid stuff that ticks off the gods and he is cursed into a book for a very long time, many, many centuries. He is trapped only out to pleasure women who hide him away, treat him like crap, etc. So then he is summoned by someone who isn’t interested in him at all. Of course she is the humanitarian that wants to go all Aladdin on Julian and set him free, but there are a lot of stipulations. The good thing, there’s no insta-love. We have a minor story of danger with Grace, as she is a sex therapist who has as many issues as her clients. We have a whole lot of get to know you time of the two. The story is alright it doesn’t really fit in the world I was expecting. I was hoping to understand more of the Dark Hunter verse and yet all I got was a somewhat love story. It was easy to read, I read it in one sitting. I found the humor entertaining. My favorite line was a response from Julian to the word house wife. “She married a house” I was overly amused by that line. The writing was great, it just wasn’t what I was expecting.

Other Books by Sherrilyn Kenyon:

Quote:

“May the strength of Ares and wisdom of Athena see you through. And may Hades roast your hoary soul.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

